This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Doctor Wont Test, Help!

liv

liv Newbie

Hello,

Im totally new to this disease. About a week ago I started suspecting I could have developed celiac disease by placing all the symptoms together, at first i thought it was lactose intolerance.

I moved to a new country about 3-4 months ago. My diet consists basically of morning cereal with fruits and milk, bread with cheese, and some rice and vegetables for lunch some chicken or fish but almost no meat. Sometimes i switch lunch for dinner and i eat bread for lunch. I don't drink soft drinks, just water. At night i eat dry fruits and tea.

I started feeling really bad about 1 month ago, every time after lunch i would get headaches and feel indisposed and it would be difficult to think.

About 2 weeks ago i got really bloated, i gained 3 kilos literally from night to day, LITERALLY. I was like a 7 months pregnant woman. My stomach would hurt every time after eating something. I tried eno and gas medications but it didn't help, and i would put a hot water bag to try and ease the pain.

I suspected it could be lactose and i cut it from my diet and went to see a doctor. I felt immediately better.

At the doctor he said i should cut lactose and gluten from my diet because the food from my country and from here is different, he didn't say i am celiac and he didn't ask for further exams. 

I feel better but i would like to be tested because this is s a huge change. My insurance refuses to let me be tested, saying that the doctor's word is final and i don't need to be tested for celiac disease, i just need to follow the diet.