#1 eblue

eblue

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 05:03 AM

Hey everyone,

Newbie here. I am having a hard time figuring out some gluten free foods to take with me when I know I am going to be gone all day. I am on the go a lot, and I need your help brainstorming some food ideas

that I can throw in my purse or backpack for those days where I will be gone for several hours. Obviously it can't be perishable. The only thing I have come up with is nuts, gluten free crackers, and potato

chips...but I would really like to think of some other options. I plan on buying a small backpack that I can take with me when hubs and I go out for the day, that way I am not tempted to try eating out ( I dont trust

eating at restraunts anymore)...Any ideas? I really need your help! Thanks in advance!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Adalaide

Adalaide

It needs to be about 20% cooler.

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,449 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 05:53 AM

All sorts of fruit is good, bananas were practically made for day trips. I like to take Stretch Island fruit leather, frozen grapes in the summer (in a pack that will keep them cold!), dried coconut, veggies like carrots or celery. The sorts of things I would snack on at home. If I'm going to be gone for an entire day I always plan on bringing a pack to keep some things cold and usually have a salad and some yogurt with me.

"You don't look sick or anything"

"Well you don't look stupid, looks can be deceiving."

Celiac DX Dec 2012

CRPS DX March 2014

#3 tarnalberry

tarnalberry

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts

Posted 21 June 2013 - 12:24 PM

You can have a small insulated cooler with an ice pack and pack almost anything. (This is what I do when my toddler and I are out for very long.) Things we bring include:

Cheese
Hard boiled egg
Rice cakes w/ peanut butter (wrap in Saran Wrap)
Crackers
Dried fruits