Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Men's One A Day Vitamin Craves And Figs From Wholefoods
0

13 posts in this topic

Are NOT gluten-free. Even though I was sure I scoured these labels before bringing them home. I feel defeated! I have been taken the vitamins for 2 weeks. Thank goodness I checked to see the b12 contents today and noticed WHEAT written under the nutritional statement. I must have grabbed the wrong package because I was sure I picked these up and they stated "Gluten Free" 

 

Sigh!

 

And figs! One of my favorite things that I figured I didn't have to worry about. Time to hone in on reading labels even farther! 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Whats with the figs?

Are these dried and packaged with wheat starch or something?  I grow and dry my own which is safe but also buy the dried wheels of figs from GReece and Turkey which are ok too.

 

 

 

Are NOT gluten-free. Even though I was sure I scoured these labels before bringing them home. I feel defeated! I have been taken the vitamins for 2 weeks. Thank goodness I checked to see the b12 contents today and noticed WHEAT written under the nutritional statement. I must have grabbed the wrong package because I was sure I picked these up and they stated "Gluten Free" 

 

Sigh!

 

And figs! One of my favorite things that I figured I didn't have to worry about. Time to hone in on reading labels even farther! 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If they clearly labelled " wheat" as an ingredient.....I don't think it's the companies fault if you have been using them. You just have to get into the habit of reading ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh believe me, I do. And I even mentioned that in the original post. I hope you weren't trying to be snarky :( I even researched this and found other blogs talking about how they have gluten free and wheat written on some of the labels, but the company states these are considered gluten free because the what is refined.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not sure what is up with the figs. Under ingredients it just lists figs and a sugar coating. Underneath on another label it says "may contain traces of wheat, peanut, etc." 

 

My assumption is that these are processed in a facility using wheat on their lines but I can't find any information online. I was going to ask during my next trip to whole foods. I bought the more expensive brand last week right next to these and they were just pure figs with no warnings or labels. My problem with the label on these figs is that it's on a different label on the bottom of the product and not really very noticeable. Ah well, live and learn and keep trying.

They were distributed by Whole Foods Market. I haven't had a problem with much else there. 

 

 

Whats with the figs?

Are these dried and packaged with wheat starch or something?  I grow and dry my own which is safe but also buy the dried wheels of figs from GReece and Turkey which are ok too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




"May contain traces" is a disclaimer about shared facilities or equipment. It is a voluntary disclosure, so just because you don't see it don't assume anything.

 

Whole Foods have a pretty good rep here for label accuracy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll try to check it out the next time i get to a whole foods in August. They dont have one here in Kona ut I'm speaking at one in August and try to remember to check the figs. Like Peter said, so many things have this disclaimer now. Even some  M&MS. I just don't take chances. I'm not sure where you are but I bet you could grow your own fig tree, they can grow as far north as  chicago or even in pots inside and kept very low to produce about 4 figs inside. good luck

Not sure what is up with the figs. Under ingredients it just lists figs and a sugar coating. Underneath on another label it says "may contain traces of wheat, peanut, etc." 

 

My assumption is that these are processed in a facility using wheat on their lines but I can't find any information online. I was going to ask during my next trip to whole foods. I bought the more expensive brand last week right next to these and they were just pure figs with no warnings or labels. My problem with the label on these figs is that it's on a different label on the bottom of the product and not really very noticeable. Ah well, live and learn and keep trying.

They were distributed by Whole Foods Market. I haven't had a problem with much else there. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just happen to have a bag of figs here so I can suggest Sun~Maid Califonias Mission Figs.  Ingredients-Dried figs with potassium sorbaste added as a preservative.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found a new brand a meijer. There are no warnings and the only ingredients seem to be figs. I haven't reacted yet. :) So that's a good sign. 

I'll try those though, Mommida. Thanks for the suggestion. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok guess im not alone, I ate some organic figs yesterday and felt like I had been stabbed in the gut and punched in the heart. The package lists one ingredient only...figs. It was one of those discs of figs from greece with the nice old lady on it. I thought maybe it was the high sugar or the seeds causing havoc. It was the most painfull reaction to food I have had, ever.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

googling around, I find (claims)  that some figs are dusted with (oat, or wheat) flour to keep them from sticking together, perhaps labeling laws in greece are not so strict.

 

It seems like i can can eat anything i want as long as its not something i want

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

been using  dried figs form  greece, turkey, croatia and a few other places and have never had  any problem nor have I ever heard of them being dusted with anything. What appears like dust is actually the natural sugar. Nuts are another story.  Check the McD's walnuts in their salads. -- coated with wheat starch.

 

googling around, I find (claims)  that some figs are dusted with (oat, or wheat) flour to keep them from sticking together, perhaps labeling laws in greece are not so strict.

 

It seems like i can can eat anything i want as long as its not something i want

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

With regard to the vitamins, I was taking the vita craves until my diagnosis.

 

Trader Joe's and Costco both sell gummie vitamins that are gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,670
    • Total Posts
      921,685
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • So my heart has been doing weird stuff post gluten challenge. Skips beats, arrhythmias, chest pain. It was getting a bit better then worse again in July.   My cardiologist has done 2 stress tests, halter monitor, and we have not caught anything other then harmless pvc's. But I KNOW this is not right for my heart and it has gone wacky out of sync and we never catch it on a damn test. All of my doctor's were connected out of a larger practice, so the GI, cardio, neuro, and primary care can all see the mountains of tests I had and think I am a nutcase the moment I walk through the door. I will admit that I informed the old GI about the DGP test being positive and I sent over some info on the test as they were basically using TTG and old gliadin tests, and they were receptive. But for the most part, I do not trust doctors. I was once told I was in false labor when I actually had 13 gallstones and an infection in my bile duct. I have more horror stories, as we all do. So, my protein and RBC were low in the hospital but all up to good levels now so it is not a vitamin deficiency. My heart has already skipped multiple beats today. The other day, it again went out of rhythm for just 20 seconds or so. I am not drinking coffee or alcohol because of the acidity, so it is not that. I was glutened on August 24th and probably once in July. Does anyone have weird heart issues that vanish eventually? If so, how long does it take? I am an over-thinker, which has its pros and cons. I know we are at an increased risk for CAD which is not really my concern right now. My gut is inflamed, my thyroid is inflamed and my adrenal gland was effected by all of this. I sort of wonder if an exposure to gluten causes some kind of myocarditis, an inflammation that would not be picked up a sonogram per se, and may eventually vanish with a gluten free diet. Has anyone ever had experience with myocarditis? I did a lot of reading on Roemheld syndrome, gastro-cardio syndrome, which is basically a set of cardio symptoms resulting from your gut. Praying it is just that! I just feel like now that I have a diagnosis, I need to rebuild a team of doctors that I feel have my back. This is a sucky disease that can have a lot of ill effects and I need a team I feel is intelligent, supportive and willing to research. I already have a new GI and a great Endocrinologist. I am seriously contemplating a new cardio and neuro as they both talk to me like I am a 12 year-old with "hysterical girl syndrome".
    • I was not officially diagnosed with narcolepsy when I was younger and still haven't.  However, even in my junior high and high school years and on through my college years staying awake was always a struggle for me.  maybe the gluten was a factor back in junior high and just didn't realize it.    There were times in church and other times I would just BAM fall asleep without warning.  Frustrating and somewhat embarrassing to say the least.  Now that I have been off gluten for close to a year now, the "feeling" of needing to sleep is becoming less and less.  Still have periods of sudden sleepiness, but not as often any more.
    • when they first came out, I read the ingredients on them, and they don't seem to contain malt.  But the company, at that time specifically posted on the website that they  are not gluten-free.  So I don't drink them.
    • Rum is naturally gluten free, but in cases where it is flavored, spiced, etc. you have to be careful where they might add a malt in the natural flavorings. I been using Admiral Nelsons coconut rums in cooking for finishing off stir frys, and adding a bit of flavor to caramelized ingredients for a few years now, I have never had issues with those. As for the Morgan, I would be careful with the spiced version as they might use a malt based ingredient in it. I did a bit of research and like you found no conclusive evidence to if it contains gluten or not. The plain rum from them is listed on many and been tested by several groups and has come up gluten free. On a side note if your a celiac or have intestinal damage I would avoid alcohol or drink in moderation. I personally only use it in cooking.
    • Hi, It seems they advertise it as a malt beverage.  Malt is made from barley normally, so it would not be gluten-free.  Unless they specify the malt is corn malt, it is always assumed to be barley malt per FDA labeling regs.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,669
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Cjplmon
    Joined