21 replies to this topic

#1 Aelfwine

Aelfwine

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 July 2013 - 07:30 PM

My husband has recently been diagnosed with a gluten intolerance, subsequently I am now making our own breads etc. The issue im having is that, despite following all the recipes exactly, the bread all have a cake like quality, and not like bread at all. Does anyone have any tips? I know that the bread will never be the same as store bought wheat bread, but any tips are most welcome. 

When life throws you a lemon, make lemonade!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 cyclinglady

cyclinglady

Advanced Community Member

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,772 posts

Posted 11 July 2013 - 07:55 AM

I'm still new to celiac disease and I've made lots of cookies, cakes and muffins that don't require yeast over the past 12 years (hubby is gluten-free longer). Plan on trying it someday, but the frozen bread is good enough for my hubby and I don't even crave sandwiches (prefer lettuce wraps). I'm hoping some of the bakers will come forward to help you.
Non-functioning Gall bladder Removal Surgery 2005
Diagnosed via Blood Test and Endoscopy: March 2013
Hashimoto's Thyroiditis -- Stable 2014
Anemia -- Resolved
Fractures (vertebrae): June 2013
Osteopenia/osteoporosis -- June 2013
Allergies and Food Intolerances
Diabetes -- January 2014

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 lpellegr

lpellegr

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 778 posts

Posted 13 July 2013 - 04:20 AM