Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Gluten In Korean Foods?
0

11 posts in this topic

Hey so I'm trying the gluten-free diet and so far I seem to have an idea of what to avoid in the Western foods. However, when it comes to korean food I have no idea if it contains gluten or not and my mom doesn't know either. She has no idea what gluten is. To start off, I love eating galbi. We buy the fresh ones so I am assuming they are safe to eat. The sauce however I am unsure. Also different sauces seem to have slightly varying ingredients, but in the one I curtently have, the ingredients are:

 

Soy Sauce (Water, soybean, salt), sugar, pear puree, onion, garlic, sesame oil, sesame seed, sorbitol, black pepper, citric acid, salt.

 

It says it contains soybean and sesame seed, no mention of wheat.

 

I've read rice in itself is safe but my mom cooks it with beans. Brand name is Goya. Says it may contain soybean and what. Ingredients:

 

Pinto beans, small red beans, pink beans, red kidney beans, great northern beans, baby lima beans, large lima beans, blackeye peas, small white beans, black beans, whole green beans, yellow split peas, green split peas, lentils, chick peas, pearl barley.

 

Finally, hot pepper paste. I've read it is not gluten free but I looked and nothing seemed suspicious.

 

Ingredients: Red Pepper Powder, Rice, Corn Syrup, Starch Syrup, Salt, Alcohol,  Fructooligosaccharide.

 

I'm still really new to this stuff so I'm not 100% on what I can and cannot eat yet, thank you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Rules for labels vary from country to country, but in Canada and the United States, wheat must be declared on the label. The only possibly iffy thing is the "starch syrup" as the source is undisclosed. But again, in Canada and the US wheat cannot be hidden. Canada's rules are stricter, and require disclosure of all gluten sources, not just wheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy sauce is generally made with wheat. There are kinds without it though (tamari is one kind, san-j produces a line of it).

 

Barley is a no no, as it has gluten in it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey so I'm trying the gluten-free diet and so far I seem to have an idea of what to avoid in the Western foods. However, when it comes to korean food I have no idea if it contains gluten or not and my mom doesn't know either. She has no idea what gluten is. To start off, I love eating galbi. We buy the fresh ones so I am assuming they are safe to eat. The sauce however I am unsure. Also different sauces seem to have slightly varying ingredients, but in the one I curtently have, the ingredients are:

 

Soy Sauce (Water, soybean, salt), sugar, pear puree, onion, garlic, sesame oil, sesame seed, sorbitol, black pepper, citric acid, salt.

 

It says it contains soybean and sesame seed, no mention of wheat.

 

I've read rice in itself is safe but my mom cooks it with beans. Brand name is Goya. Says it may contain soybean and what. Ingredients:

 

Pinto beans, small red beans, pink beans, red kidney beans, great northern beans, baby lima beans, large lima beans, blackeye peas, small white beans, black beans, whole green beans, yellow split peas, green split peas, lentils, chick peas, pearl barley.

 

Finally, hot pepper paste. I've read it is not gluten free but I looked and nothing seemed suspicious.

 

Ingredients: Red Pepper Powder, Rice, Corn Syrup, Starch Syrup, Salt, Alcohol,  Fructooligosaccharide.

 

I'm still really new to this stuff so I'm not 100% on what I can and cannot eat yet, thank you.

Hi there. I live in Korea, and the only food that is safe for me is bibimbap, but even that may not be safe with cross contamination issues. Red pepper paste/gojuchang is not gluten free. I don't know of any brands of it that are gluten free. A lot of Korean products that are sweetened are sweetened with barley syrup as well, so be on the lookout for that. Soy sauce is definitely NOT gluten free, but there are some gluten-free brands that are very tasty. I use the raw coconut aminos brand that you can find on iherb.com or at whole foods/trader joe's type places. Good luck! 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oops! I missed the pearl barley the first time. It is definitely a no-no.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




You also have to be careful with dry seaweed which is often processed with wheat based soy sauce. sometimes it takes time to get used to and you might get sick a few times in the process. good luck

 

Hey so I'm trying the gluten-free diet and so far I seem to have an idea of what to avoid in the Western foods. However, when it comes to korean food I have no idea if it contains gluten or not and my mom doesn't know either. She has no idea what gluten is. To start off, I love eating galbi. We buy the fresh ones so I am assuming they are safe to eat. The sauce however I am unsure. Also different sauces seem to have slightly varying ingredients, but in the one I curtently have, the ingredients are:

 

Soy Sauce (Water, soybean, salt), sugar, pear puree, onion, garlic, sesame oil, sesame seed, sorbitol, black pepper, citric acid, salt.

 

It says it contains soybean and sesame seed, no mention of wheat.

 

I've read rice in itself is safe but my mom cooks it with beans. Brand name is Goya. Says it may contain soybean and what. Ingredients:

 

Pinto beans, small red beans, pink beans, red kidney beans, great northern beans, baby lima beans, large lima beans, blackeye peas, small white beans, black beans, whole green beans, yellow split peas, green split peas, lentils, chick peas, pearl barley.

 

Finally, hot pepper paste. I've read it is not gluten free but I looked and nothing seemed suspicious.

 

Ingredients: Red Pepper Powder, Rice, Corn Syrup, Starch Syrup, Salt, Alcohol,  Fructooligosaccharide.

 

I'm still really new to this stuff so I'm not 100% on what I can and cannot eat yet, thank you.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You also have to be careful with dry seaweed which is often processed with wheat based soy sauce. sometimes it takes time to get used to and you might get sick a few times in the process. good luck

 

Is there a way to tell? I looked at the labeling and there was no hint that i knew of showing that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can read Japanese and not Hangul so its hard to say. The Japanese are especially strict with imports, even more than the US so those labels have to be identifed and if processed with soy sauce it has to say what was in the soy sauce.  Usually I just stay away from  anything that has anything other than plain  dried seaweed.

 

Is there a way to tell? I looked at the labeling and there was no hint that i knew of showing that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi there. I live in Korea, and the only food that is safe for me is bibimbap, but even that may not be safe with cross contamination issues. Red pepper paste/gojuchang is not gluten free. I don't know of any brands of it that are gluten free. A lot of Korean products that are sweetened are sweetened with barley syrup as well, so be on the lookout for that. Soy sauce is definitely NOT gluten free, but there are some gluten-free brands that are very tasty. I use the raw coconut aminos brand that you can find on iherb.com or at whole foods/trader joe's type places. Good luck!

Bibimbap sauce is not gluten free, it's made with gochujang and soy sauce and syrup sweetener.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I love Korean food, and I've more or less had to give it up. When it was just gluten I had to worry about, then I managed, but I can't do soy anymore so that means absolutely no korean restaurants, and very difficult to make good approximations.

I've also never seen korean red pepper paste without gluten. I've heard its out there, but I've never seen it. It is possible to make your own, though it's time consuming.

Bibimbap, noodles, marinated meats, etc can all be made at home substituting gluten-free soy sauce and such.

Tell your mom you can definitly not eat that bean mixture though.

If you like korean food, it might be a good time to learn to cook a few recipes on your own. 

 

Now if I can just get around to trying to make chickpea miso red pepper paste...

 

Good luck!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

>>chickpea miso red pepper paste<< wow, sounds great, I'll buy some!

 

I love Korean food, and I've more or less had to give it up. When it was just gluten I had to worry about, then I managed, but I can't do soy anymore so that means absolutely no korean restaurants, and very difficult to make good approximations.

I've also never seen korean red pepper paste without gluten. I've heard its out there, but I've never seen it. It is possible to make your own, though it's time consuming.

Bibimbap, noodles, marinated meats, etc can all be made at home substituting gluten-free soy sauce and such.

Tell your mom you can definitly not eat that bean mixture though.

If you like korean food, it might be a good time to learn to cook a few recipes on your own. 

 

Now if I can just get around to trying to make chickpea miso red pepper paste...

 

Good luck!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,647
    • Total Posts
      918,462
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Positive Biopsy, Negative Blood Tests
      BTW, all first degree relatives of celiacs are supposed to be tested for celiac every 2 years in the absence of symptoms -- immediately if symptoms present. Your kids, your parents & all siblings should be tested. And that goes for your brothers kids too.
    • Positive Biopsy, Negative Blood Tests
      I agree completely with cyclinglady! Do you even know that there is such a thing called silent celiac? No symptoms at all but the villi are damaged.  I see you joined in 2009. Why? Is that when your brother was diagnosed? IMHO you need to do a lot of research & find out just exactly what you're risking. 
    • Positive Biopsy, Negative Blood Tests
      What?  Be sure that next endoscopy tests you for lymphoma (cancer) as well!   Seriously.  You need to do some research as your knowledge of celiac disease is lacking.  Did you fail the entire celiac panel?  Or did your doctor/insurance save cash and just order the very good (but does not catch all celiacs) TTG IgA?  You have a family history, a positive biopsy, what more do you need?  You do realize that this is not about just giving up gluten, don't you?  We just had a member join this year who was told years ago that her tests were "inconclusive" and that she now has suffered with lymphoma (cancer)? Ugh!   Endoscopy in 10 years?  Who would even wait 10 years?  This isn't colon cancer and polyps!   Are you talking about a colonoscopy?  Are you even sure you had an endoscopy?   Be sure you have your bones checked too.....and forget the breath.  You might not have any teeth and implants will be out since your bones will be compromised. Sorry, if I come on strong, but when I was diagnosed I had no tummy issues.  A few months later, my bones began breaking.  I was undiagnosed for a long time because of mis-informed doctors.  At least it was not stupidity on my part.   So, I urge you to research this disease more!  Hopefully you'll ward on another autoimmune disorder by remaining gluten free.  Find what celiac blood tests were actually taken!  Even if you do not think you have celiac disease, something has caused villi damage -- like a parasite, milk, or something......even more sinister! Good luck!  
    • Really, Really Foul Breath Post-glutening?
      In addition to eating gluten-free, I attribute the following to knocking out my bad breath once and for all: 1. SmartMouth Activated Mouthwash (this is what really did it for me!) 2. Flonase Nasal Spray 3. Dr. Tung's Tongue Scraper 4. The obviously brushing and flossing twice daily (goes without saying).    
    • Positive Biopsy, Negative Blood Tests
      I went in for an endoscopy to find out if something from my stomach/intestine was causing my bad breath.  A biopsy during that procedure revealed that I had Celiac.  I thought it was strange since I ate pizza, pasta, and other bread/gluten items almost every day without issue, so I decided to confirm the biopsy result with a blood test. I took the blood test twice (once on a high- and once on a low-gluten diet) and it came back negative both times.  I just assumed someone at the earlier biopsy lab must have messed up my analysis or accidently mistaken someone else's biopsy for mine, but after reading this thread it seems like my initial biopsy might have been correct all along. My doctor suggested doing another endoscopy, but I didn't want to foot the bill for that.  Also, my older brother has Celiac which was confirmed by both a biopsy and blood test. Eating less gluten did seem to help a little with my bad breath, but SmartMouth Activated Mouthwash along with Flonase nasal spray and a Dr. Tung's tongue scrapper really did the trick to solve the bad breath issue. I'm just assuming I have Celiac and eating "gluten conscious" until my next endoscopy in about 10 years. If that biopsy comes back positive again, then I'll be strictly gluten-free.  I'm just glad I don't have many symptoms.      
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,741
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Roemill
    Joined