This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Significant Other To Celiac

tinydani

tinydani Newbie

Hey everyone, I am new to celiac.com but not new with celiac disease. I have been dating my boyfriend of 1.5 year(s) and he has celiac disease. At first I did not at all understand the seriousness of this disease, so he was sick all the time from cross contamination and he wasn't as serious as he is now about being gluten free. Over time we have taken steps and precautions to avoid cross contamination. I know I do not have this disease, but being a significant other and trying to be supportive is pretty difficult at times. Celiac disease obviously limits the places we can go to eat and the things we can do and I just want to know how other celiacs go about travel, and doing activities?

I have changed my diet to a completley gluten free diet as we live together, and i clean the house at least once a week with vinegar to kill most of the gluten particles, he is that sensitive. I just feel right now he is letting his disease define him and monitor the things he does in his life and I think celiac disease has killed his spontaneity and I just want to help him and have fun and do "normal" things that other couples do for the most part.

I think I really phrased this wrong earlier so I edited. Thanks for tips!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master