48 replies to this topic

#1 tinydani

tinydani

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 07 August 2013 - 12:06 AM

Hey everyone, I am new to celiac.com but not new with celiac disease. I have been dating my boyfriend of 1.5 year(s) and he has celiac disease. At first I did not at all understand the seriousness of this disease, so he was sick all the time from cross contamination and he wasn't as serious as he is now about being gluten free. Over time we have taken steps and precautions to avoid cross contamination. I know I do not have this disease, but being a significant other and trying to be supportive is pretty difficult at times. Celiac disease obviously limits the places we can go to eat and the things we can do and I just want to know how other celiacs go about travel, and doing activities?

I have changed my diet to a completley gluten free diet as we live together, and i clean the house at least once a week with vinegar to kill most of the gluten particles, he is that sensitive. I just feel right now he is letting his disease define him and monitor the things he does in his life and I think celiac disease has killed his spontaneity and I just want to help him and have fun and do "normal" things that other couples do for the most part.

I think I really phrased this wrong earlier so I edited. Thanks for tips!

Edited by tinydani, 07 August 2013 - 10:27 AM.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

Be Royal

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,123 posts

Posted 07 August 2013 - 05:13 AM

I think it gets better as you get your procedures/habits worked out.  Don't try to make a gluten food at the same time as a gluten-free food - its too stressful and difficult.  Might be easiest just to not have any gluten food in the house he lives in.

There are lots of things you can do that are not going out to dinner.  You just have to be creative.  Here are some ideas:

golf

golf driving range

min-golf

fishing

zoo