This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

In Search Of Help.

carmello1521

carmello1521 Newbie

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to this whole thing. I'm 15 years old and yesterday was the first day of my sophomore year or highschool. A week ago yesterday I had a stomach scope done. For the last 8 months I have been struggling with intense stomach problems. I had the hida scan, an ultra sound, blood tests for various types of ulcer related problems. However, they never tested me for a gluten allergy. When the surgeon had discovered my inflamed small intestine he decided to take a sample of my tissue. He told us there was a slight chance I had a gluten allergy, but it was very low. That is was probably caused by stress. Yesterday, I recieved a call confirming I had celiac disease, only half way through my first day of school. I truly believed that that wasn't going to be the problem, so it took me back quite a bit upon learning that it was. Now I'm struggling knowing that this is a life time problem. It's honestly depressing to know. I'm also struggling with finding gluten free foods. I live in a small town (no walmart) so it's been hard. I really could just use some advice and maybe some easy foods to eat without gluten? Please, I'm feeling really lost seemings as nobody I know has this problem...

Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Adalaide Mentor

I promise it gets easier. I had a surprise diagnosis too and didn't take it particularly well, but threw myself into everything gluten free because what choice did I have? Before I realized it, everything was second nature to me.