Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Hello, I Was Wondering If Anyone Knew If "hellmann's Cheesy Jalapeno Dipping Sauce" Is Gluten Free?
0

6 posts in this topic

Hello! I have recently found out that I am gluten intolerant. I am not overly stoked obviously. I love my breads haha. I have been browsing the internet to see what I can and can not eat from my regular foods. Anyway, I was about to order gluten free pizza and Hellmann's Cheesy Jalapeno Dipping Sauce when I realized I could not find the ingredients to it any where, also, if I did I wouldn't have a clue what to look for :S this is all so new to me.

 

I know it is a pretty stupid question but I am curious and the gluten free forums seem like a pretty good place to go and ask.

 

Thank-You!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Welcome to the board.

Hellmans is a Unilever company and they will not hide gluten ingredients so simply read the jar. The more important part of your query is that you are 'ordering a gluten-free pizza'. I really hope it was not from Domino's as their pizzas are likely to be heavily cross contaminated and not safe for us.

If you are newly diagnosed it is best to stick with whole foods for a bit. Be sure to read the Celiac 101 section to know what you need to do to keep yourself safe. The gluten-free lifestyle takes some getting used to but it is well worth the trouble.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

from the mighty interwebs:

 

SOYBEAN OIL, WATER, CORN SYRUP,NATURAL CHEDDAR CHEESE FLAVOUR, SALT, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, MALTODEXTRIN, JALAPENO PUREE (JALAPENOS, WATER, CITRIC ACID), XANTHAN GUM, PHOSPHORIC ACID, LACTIC ACID, POLYSORBATE 60, DEHYDRATED GREEN BELL PEPPERS, FLAVOUR, YEAST EXTRACT, COLOUR, POTASSIUM SORBATE, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, SORBIC ACID, VINEGAR, CALCIUM DISODIUM EDTA, SOY LECITHIN. CONTAINS: MILK, SOY  <there's your cheater words at the end, where unclear stuff has to be declared if the product contains it.  so, no gluten :)  although i would skip this if i was pretty new/trying to heal.  maybe try it again down the road a bit.  

 

here's the link it's from - googly is your friend  :)  

 

http://www.unileverfoodsolutions.ca/Product/c/c/HELLMANNS-Cheese-Jalapeno-Dipping-Sauce-100-x-44-ML.html

 

lolz !   *nobody* is overly stoked - you crack me up  :lol:  - but the more you research the easier it will be to keep healthy.  good luck!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Farmer's market. Buy some jalepenos. Buy some bell peppers. Buy some vinegar. Buy some corn starch. Puree the peppers, add some vinegar. Thicken it with the corn starch. Those are the only ingredients you need, unless you like the taste of polysorbate 60, propylene glycol, disodium EDTA, and all of the other crap they put in it. :lol:

 

Honestly though, WHY do they put all of that garbage into the things people eat and still call it FOOD??!! :angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you guys!

Yeah I have been doing a lot of research in the past couple days since I found out, I just think my mind got too jumbled and I just just have the patience to look through all of google to find it aha.

 

No its wasn't Dominos, it was a local pizza store , my friend is celiac and told me it was the safest pizza place to eat!

 

Yeah farmers market is a better idea aha, I have thought about getting a few days free and making a lot of my own stuff for the next few months and freezing it so I don't have to overly worry about everything I eat!! Also because the random things they put in food scares me!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




honestly, once i got used to making my own stuff, i don't have the inclination to go back to store bought - alot of the additives they put in are to aid in shelf life - i make guacamole, for example, that keeps 2 weeks in the fridge and that's because it contains lime juice :)  and to make it stay pretty, i put a piece of plastic wrap inside the jar on top of the guac to reduce the amount of air it comes in contact with, although it's perfectly fine even if it turns a little darker green - and i really don't need it to keep for 2 months!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0