Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Brewer's Yeast

brewers yeast

  • Please log in to reply

1 reply to this topic

#1 blondiedar052

 
blondiedar052

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2013 - 02:53 AM

I am new to the world of gluten-free eating.  I saw a dietician today and she told me brewer's yeast is gluten. She then sent me to buy these supplements that had , you guessed it, brewer's yeast in them.  The employee called the manufactuer and they said they were labeled gluten-free because the brewer's yeast is sugar.  I have checked several websites, as has my daughter and they differ in whether they are gluten-free or not.  Does anyone know for sure? Thanks for you help!  :)


  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,057 posts
 

Posted 06 September 2013 - 07:11 AM

I am not aware of a definitive answer. The Canadian Celiac Association has this to say:

A selected strain of (Saccharomyces cerevisiae) yeast. It is a bitter byproduct of the brewing industry and is seldom used in foods. Current methods of testing cannot accurately confirm the amount of residual gluten in brewer's yeast.

They classify it as "not allowed."
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: