Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Wheat Bran - Try It - It's Great!
0

34 posts in this topic

I've mixed wheat bran into my cereal and it gave me no "wheat" pain   ,and make me feel fuller longer.

I don't think it has wheat protein,since it's just the outer husk of the wheat and is not absorbed by the intestine.  I think wheat bran is a celiac's best friend  !  What do you think.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I've mixed wheat bran into my cereal and it gave me no "wheat" pain   ,and make me feel fuller longer.

I don't think it has wheat protein,since it's just the outer husk of the wheat and is not absorbed by the intestine.  I think wheat bran is a celiac's best friend  !  What do you think.

 

 

Of course wheat bran is not safe for Celiacs.

 

Perhaps you don't really have Celiac Disease?  You haven't been an active member for years, so I have no idea if you were diagnosed or not.  I also wonder if someone managed to get into your account and post this for fun?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wouldn't touch it ... buy it.. or have it in my house. Let alone eat it. My thing is this... Just because it doesn't give you pain doesn't mean it isn't doing something BAD to your body. What would make you do such a thing?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks like you were never diagnosed with Celiac disease?  Just having the genes does not mean you have Celiac.  That might be why you can eat small amounts of wheat  and get away with it.

 

Even if the bran didn't have the protein Celiacs react to in it, the processing would certainly leave some. 

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




If you have Celiac or NCGI, you are taking a huge risk eating wheat bran. You may think it is safe to eat, but you are wrong, sorry.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've mixed wheat bran into my cereal and it gave me no "wheat" pain   ,and make me feel fuller longer.

I don't think it has wheat protein,since it's just the outer husk of the wheat and is not absorbed by the intestine.  I think wheat bran is a celiac's best friend  !  What do you think.

 

At the risk of being warned or even banned, I'm going to say that this has to be about one of the dumbest things that I've heard. Just because it's the wheat husk, it doesn't have any gluten?! That's like saying an orange rind doesn't have any vitamin C. All I can say is that if it works for you, go for it but I wouldn't be recommending it to a Celiac sufferer.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  I think wheat bran is a celiac's best friend  !  What do you think.

 

I think with friends like that, who needs any damn enemies. And anyone that would suggest that is an idiot and has no idea what this is all about.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't let a troll get you this upset.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't let a troll get you this upset.

 

Gonna take more than that to get me upset but I don't want/need anyone giving any newbies or oldies any bad advice that could set them back and make them miserable.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At the risk of being warned or even banned, I'm going to say that this has to be about one of the dumbest things that I've heard. 

 

Well, I  wouldn't warn you, hon  ^_^

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't let a troll get you this upset.

Mommida makes a good point, but Candy may simply think it's okay because she is "not feeling anything"

and we all know that does not mean it's not causing damage..

 

CANDY...stop eating wheat bran.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gonna take more than that to get me upset but I don't want/need anyone giving any newbies or oldies any bad advice that could set them back and make them miserable.

Very true.  We should look into a way of getting rid of straight up foolishness. ;)

 

Newbies...  If it says wheat, Don't eat! :rolleyes:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is NOT SAFE for those with Celiac or intolerances or allergies. That's great that it doesn't give you any ill effects but it isn't safe for most in this community.

 

http://www.livestrong.com/article/404265-does-wheat-bran-contain-gluten/

Funny that you post that link , because if anybody reads it , it says this :All three components contain a plant storage protein known as gluten............ So you should read what what you post. it contains GLUTEN!! 

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/404265-does-wheat-bran-contain-gluten/#ixzz2egdQYeFk

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Funny that you post that link , because if anybody reads it , it says this :All three components contain a plant storage protein known as gluten............ So you should read what what you post. it contains GLUTEN!! Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/404265-does-wheat-bran-contain-gluten/#ixzz2egdQYeFk

I think Stephanie did read it. That's why she posted it. And she said it wasn't safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think Stephanie did read it. That's why she posted it. And she said it wasn't safe.

I am so very sorry, I thought it was candy that posted the link........  

 

So sorry Stephanie :) I apologize :) 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am so very sorry, I thought it was candy that posted the link........  

 

So sorry Stephanie :) I apologize :)

 

I doubt "Candy" will even come back.  :ph34r:

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm relatively new here, and I have to say that you all should relax about the newbies.  Being new does not equal being stupid or gullible.  

 

This is an obvious troll.  No one is going to take this seriously unless they remain completely uneducated about gluten in all other respects.  Even if the bran didn't contain gluten itself, the mere fact that it's processed from wheat would make it rife with cross contaminants.  I think even a newbie is smart enough to sort that one out :)  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm relatively new here, and I have to say that you all should relax about the newbies.  Being new does not equal being stupid or gullible.  

 

This is an obvious troll.  No one is going to take this seriously unless they remain completely uneducated about gluten in all other respects.  Even if the bran didn't contain gluten itself, the mere fact that it's processed from wheat would make it rife with cross contaminants.  I think even a newbie is smart enough to sort that one out :)

 

 

I'm glad you know how to use your brain!  :)

 

I used to think this,  too.  Unfortunately,  I can't count the number of people who read the first post "Wheat bran is gluten-free ..." and never go any further down the thread.  Then they mention that they read it somewhere and its OK.  Someone calling herself a home ec expert started giving medical advice and its wrong and all over the internet and is constantly being brought up here as fact.  :wacko:

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Agree, wheat bran should not be eaten by celiacs.  There are other forms of fiber that are safe and not expensive.  Like psyillium husks, citrus fiber, celery and many other veggies.  Candy, there is no need to risk your health by eating wheat bran when there are plenty of alternative fiber sources available.  Fiber does help many people's digestion, and can be a useful thing in the diet.  But stick to the safer forms of fiber that don't have gluten in them.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm glad you know how to use your brain!  :)

 

I used to think this,  too.  Unfortunately,  I can't count the number of people who read the first post "Wheat bran is gluten-free ..." and never go any further down the thread.  Then they mention that they read it somewhere and its OK.  Someone calling herself a home ec expert started giving medical advice and its wrong and all over the internet and is constantly being brought up here as fact.  :wacko:

I would of believed it! I had nooooo clue what I was doing.  I am still finding things that have gluten. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, I take it back :)  I wouldn't have believed it, but it is true there is lots of misinformation out there!  

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, I take it back :)  I wouldn't have believed it, but it is true there is lots of misinformation out there!

Sometimes it is almost unbearable. :blink:

 

Beware of "I heard," "I saw," or "I read." To me, they are worth as much as "I imagined."

 

Bear

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sadly the worst........ "The doctor said so."

3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,116
    • Total Posts
      919,448
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Knowing that the reaction to gluten in celiacs is an uncalled for immune system reaction, I was thinking of how a cure would be possible. Maybe a medicine that somehow turns off the immune system. The only thing that i've heard do that... HIV.  obviously that's way worse than celiac. Just some food for thought.
    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined