Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Japanese Brands
0

13 posts in this topic

New to Celiac as my daughter was just recently diagnosed, and trying to weed through my pantry.  The Japanese brands of foods I have eaten all my life have me particularly nervous. 

A big one is Bull-dog tonkatsu sauce.  If any of you have tried it, you probably understand the fandom behind it.  the ingredients are listed as follows:

water

high fructose corn syrup

sugar

distilled vinegar (made from alcohol)

tomato paste

salt

modified rice starch

apple puree

yeast extract

spices

prune paste

carrots

onions

lemon juice

Those ingredients on their own do not contain gluten (except for the listing of spices...).  There have also been debate on whether or not bull-dog sauce contains caramel color (while I have heard that in the U.S. caramel color is created from corn, I can't be sure about in Japan)

Does anyone have any inside into this? Or at least any resources on where I can get more information about Japanese ingredients?  I am trying to also contact Japanese manufacturers in regards to miso paste, and haven't had any success.

Any insights would be helpful, THANKS

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hello, and welcome to the community.
 
I'll address a few things.
 
If the product was sold in the US, it has to comply with US label rules, which means that wheat will be clearly disclosed using the word "wheat."
 
No grain product can be included under the name "spices." ("Seasoning" is not the same, and could hide barley, at least in theory.)
 
Distilled vinegar is safe. The only vinegar to worry about is "malt vinegar," which is always so labeled. In the US, the single word "vinegar" means apple cider vinegar. FDA definition here.

 

Miso may or may not contain gluten. As noted above, wheat must be disclosed, but it could be made from barley (gluten). It also could be made from rice (gluten-free).

 
Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

[Emphasis in original]

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello, and welcome to the community.

 

I'll address a few things.

 

If the product was sold in the US, it has to comply with US label rules, which means that wheat will be clearly disclosed using the word "wheat."

 

No grain product can be included under the name "spices." ("Seasoning" is not the same, and could hide barley, at least in theory.)

 

Distilled vinegar is safe. The only vinegar to worry about is "malt vinegar," which is always so labeled. In the US, the single word "vinegar" means apple cider vinegar. FDA definition here.

 

Miso may or may not contain gluten. As noted above, wheat must be disclosed, but it could be made from barley (gluten). It also could be made from rice (gluten-free).

 

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

[Emphasis in original]

Thanks for the info!  I think I had read about the caramel color in one of your other posts, but what about caramel color produced in other countries?  Do they also use corn, or is there the possibility of gluten based colors there?

Also, a follow up question in regards to miso made from barley culture... if they are imported to the states, would they then disclose the fact that it was made from barley ("mugi koji"), or do they not legally have to state the presence of barley since it is not considered "wheat?" 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To quote Shelley again, "European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten." Even if it is made from wheat-derived glucose (which is itself gluten-free), caramel color is gluten-free.

In the US, disclosure of barley is not required. My advice on that is if in doubt, don't.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I live in Japan and I am deathly afraid of miso here. None of the products say what kind of koji they use. I have recently ordered some Eden Foods miso from the US which is labeled as gluten free. I haven't tried it yet because it has been too hot to eat soup!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I actually got a reply back from the U.S. distributor: JFC International Inc. for the brand of miso we use (Yamabuki) and they said that their Yamabuki shinshu shiro miso (milder miso) is gluten free! YAY! They also sent me a list of all of their gluten free items (as of 4/26/2013):

Botan Rice and Botan rice candy

Daifuku-Kyoshin Ujikintoki

Dynasty Golden Plum Sauce

Dynasty Chili Oil

Dynasty Stir Fry Oil

Dynasty Plum Sauce

Dynasty Hoisin Sauce

Dynasty Bead Molasses

Dynasty Chinese Style BBQ Sauce

Dynasty Chinese Five Spice

Dynasty Sesame Oil

Dynasty Maifun Rice Stick Noodles

Dynasty Saifun Bean Thread Noodles

Dynasty Jasmine Rice

Dynasty Straw Mushroom

Dynasty Bamboo Shoots

Dynasty Water Chestnuts

Dynasty Teas

Dynasty Baby Corn

Dynasty Shitake Mushroom

Dynasty Fish Sauce

Dynasty Wasabi and Thai Chili Mayo

Dynasty Sugar Ginger

Horseradish Powder

Hakubai Sweet Rice

Hikari Shinshu miso no MSG #05141

Hikari Organic Miso Red #06844 #10898

Hime Inari No Moto

JFC coconut Milk

JFC Irishiro Goma

JFC Furikake Salmon

JFC Furikake Goma Shio

JFC Furikake Wakame

JFC Furikake Shiso

JFC Furikake Ebi

JFC Furikake Kimchi

JFC Furikake Yasai

JFC Furikake Nori Komi

Kikkoman Manjo Aji Mirin

Kikkoman Pearl Soymilk, all kinds

Well-pac Cuttle Fish, all kinds

Yamamotoyama Sushi Party Nori

 

Of course, this is for products they sell here in the U.S., so I'm not sure about miso there in Japan :\

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

great List, 

I've had a place in japan for 30 years and  9 of which as celiac.  I dont' use  bulldog sauce anymore although I've never had a problem from it. Just makes me  uncomfortable in the gut.   IN this case they said the miso is ok  but for 

Pauliewog  You have to find out with the koji is. As Peter mention US laws have to say when its  wheat but not all companies in the US follow the labeling laws -- especially  in Hawaii where the average grocery will contain a dozen products  without any English labels. If your in Japan or using a lot of Japanese items, learn  the kanji for komugi and mugi or raimugi. Some companies will also use merikenko instead of komugi  - -meaning american powder  AKA Wheat. I find most miso is ok as long as its not mugi miso. Hacho miso from Nagoya has never given me a problem  but its deep red and an acquired taste.  hope this helps   
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just don't eat out! I have my one favorite sushi place that I have never been sick at and that is it. I have some homemade miso from a friend and the koji was from rice so I know that is safe. Miso I can take or leave so not a problem. I was never a fan of the dark red miso either... takes getting used to and I never did!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What city are you in?  I trained as a chef in Tokyo and have a lot of friends now trained to handle celiacs. 

 

The one I described in my previous mail is “Tahitian Noni Care” in Shinjuku.
I have not visited there yet, but looks like nice.  
They serve raw food and other organic food menu.  Almost all food there contain Noni.

http://tncafe.jp/concept.html


Café 8 is selling vegan food both at shop and online
http://www.cafe8.jp/

And their Vegan Café is
http://www.pure-cafe.com/concept/
seem to be located at Aoyama.
 
Rainbow Raw food café is in Hamamatsu cho.  I wonder if it’s close to Honpo-san’s place?

http://rainbowrawfood.com/

Rawfood café at Ikebukuro
http://www.latableduprimeur.com/


At Setagaya
https://www.facebook.com/hoolaai

 

 

 

are  rawfood  vegan places  to check out if your in tokyo. I can try to get some names in other places like Nagoya if needed 

DO you like yuba? Juwari soba? there are a lot of options. 

 

good luck

I just don't eat out! I have my one favorite sushi place that I have never been sick at and that is it. I have some homemade miso from a friend and the koji was from rice so I know that is safe. Miso I can take or leave so not a problem. I was never a fan of the dark red miso either... takes getting used to and I never did!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for all the information but I am not in Tokyo! I'm in Toyama-ken.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are places in Takasaki and  Niigata  -- i wont get back there until  nov 1 but  maybe can  find them then.

Thanks for all the information but I am not in Tokyo! I'm in Toyama-ken.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No worries. I mainly eat fresh fish/meats and veggies. FBC and Tengu Natural Foods have enough gluten-free things to get me by if I am craving something. Tengu has a good tamari that is wheat free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

great -- glad you found things you could eat.

No worries. I mainly eat fresh fish/meats and veggies. FBC and Tengu Natural Foods have enough gluten-free things to get me by if I am craving something. Tengu has a good tamari that is wheat free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,631
    • Total Posts
      918,407
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • No gluten allergy because I don't have classic symptoms of celiac
      I've been strictly gluten free for four years. Three years I went off other grains such as rice which tested very high . I have one of the genes. My mother has Celiac and I had an endoscopy for reflux and the took biopsies and Doctor said " You Do Not Have Celiac" . This is the office that said just eat a cracker before the endoscopy and it will show up if you have it. I did not eat that one cracker LOL  I don't have "typical" celiac symptoms and have tested positive for multiple food sensitivities. Having those tests done helped enormously. One   one accidental exposure last fall which gave me my first case of Dermatitis Herpetiformis which left scars )  does indicate Celiac . I'm really rattled because endoscopy for reflux said I have reflux and chronic gastritis ( and I did not know that already?) I've done so much research I have books ! and watched my mother suffer so much and this just flies in my face. So you need to trust your gut most of all( or your symptoms)  I honestly did not expect him to find anything at all but to be told with absolute certainty I do not have celiac and don't need to worry  feels nutty to me .   Next time I get the rash( I hope I don't) I will get a biopsy . 
      "Dermatitis herpetiformis, also known as DH and Duhring’s disease, is a skin manifestation of celiac disease. Extremely itchy bumps or blisters appear on both sides of the body, most often on the forearms near the elbows, as well as on knees and buttocks"
    • A good diet for avoiding type 2 diabetes
      Hey, I am a member of that forum (not very active though).  But that's exactly how I eat.  They base their diet on this site: http://www.phlaunt.com/diabetes/ A year after my celiac disease diagnosis, my GP tells me that I am prediabetic via an email.  Instructs me to improve my diet and exercise more.  What?  I exercise more that most my age.  I run, swim, bike and teach a few exercise classes.  Change my diet?  I am gluten free.  I can not give up my gluten-free goodies!  It was asking for too much.  But I did know about celiac disease and the connection to Type 1 diabetes and Type 2 runs in my family.  So I found Jenny's site.  It made sense and I continued to research more.  Bought a Walmart meter, started testing my foods and found that "snap" I had huge spikes!  Kept meticulous data for a month and went back to my doctor.  He agreed.  I am insulin resistant and the writing's on the wall.  How to stop or slow the progression?  A low carb high fat diet.  Within three days, my blood sugar readings were normal.  Keep tracking and went back to my doctor who was amazed.  He told me to keep doing what I had been doing -- and it's been 2-1/2 years! Here's a recent study from the University of Alabama: https://www.uab.edu/news/innovation/item/4997-low-carb-diet-recommended-for-diabetics Sometimes you just have to take things into your own hands.  If I had just cut down on sugar, I 'd be on drugs and insulin and struggling to keep my feet from being amputated.  That's an exaggeration (not really), but really who cares if my foot gets chopped off?  My doctor?  He's nice, but pretty busy.  No, it's all on me!   Guess what?  I am happy on my diet.  I was addicted to sugar.  What's the biggest thing to change in our diet over the last 100 years?  Sugar.  It's in everything!  California just released a study stating over 50% of all Californians are prediabetic or have diabetes and most don't even know they have it (hummm....sounds like celiac disease).   http://newsroom.ucla.edu/releases/majority-of-california-adults-have-prediabetes-or-diabetes Enough of my soapbox talk......I've got to get some stuff done!  
    • healthy bread recipe?
      One month into the diet and she's probably very constipated because she HAS celiac disease.  She needs more time to heal.  Maybe six months to a year.  Why so long?  In theory, she should heal within weeks, but it takes a long time to really master the gluten free diet and learn about cross contamination and shared manufacturing lines.  Plus, consuming lots of gluten-free items right off the bat, may be contributing more to her health problems.  We had kids on this forum who did not drop their antibody levels until they eliminated processed foods.  20 parts per million may just be too much for her to handle right now. I would recommend reading our Newbie 101 section under "Coping".  It has some nice tips.  I would strongly recommend feeding her whole foods.  She can get plenty of fiber from fruit and veggies.  I do not even eat any grains at all, but that's my choice because grains spike my blood sugar just the same as cane sugar (I have diabetes too).   After she has healed, you can introduce breads and all kinds of junk food!     By then you will not remember what real bread tastes like.  Ask my non-celiac kid.  She's likes gluten-free pasta now.  She admits that she has forgotten what real pasta tastes like.  She adores all my baked-from-scratch gluten free cakes and cookies (that I can not eat! ) When I was diagnosed, my learning curve was easy.  My hubby had been gluten free for 12 years!  So, I ate like him.  Turns out that I was reacting.  Found out that because I was in the healing stage, I could not tolerate additives like Xanthan Gum (really needed to replace gluten in bread), preservatives, etc.  found in commercial breads and baking flour mixes.  I had lots of food intolerances that eventually resolved and some did not!   Okay. Villi damaged but not gone?  Is your doctor crazy?  Your daughter has celiac disease!  I strongly recommend getting her records and lab results and getting a second opinion.  She should have been diagnosed by now.  You should be looking into keeping her safe at school with a 504 plan (but a 12 she shouldn't be playing with playdough, but colleges will have to accommodate her diet and that's coming up faster than you think!)   Welcome to the forum!  I hope this helps.  
    • Received Results. Looks like not Celiac?
      If I were in your shoes, I would first test out a histamine intolerance diet before going gluten free.  Migraines and  fatigue seems to scream histamine intolerance.  It's most widely known in Europe, but it is gaining some ground here in the US.   But, I am not a doctor and I do not know you.  What I can suggest is that you do some research and continue to advocate for your health.   If you go gluten free, then it's six months.  If you had celiac disease, it would take that long to heal or longer!  It's a hard diet to follow when your results are negative, but nothing's impossible!  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,720
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Fendell
    Joined