Jump to content





   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

New With Celiac Disease And I Don't Want Alcohol I Can Drink

alcohol new with celiac disease

  • Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic

#1 Katie25

 
Katie25

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 12 October 2013 - 02:21 PM

Hello, I am new to this celiac disease and I have to say I don't like it ;) I miss my regular food, and not really caring what I was eating and drinking. But I am going out tonight with friends and I have no clue what can I drink and what can of shots I can take. Can someone please help me.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts
 

Posted 12 October 2013 - 02:49 PM

Welcome.

Wine and cider are gluten-free. Distilled spirits are gluten-free. Many mixers, such as cola, soda, ginger ale, and plain juices are gluten-free.

Regular beer contains malted barley and is NOT gluten-free.

Coolers often contain barley malt, but this varies (usually as a result of differences and state liquor laws). Likewise, "hard lemonade" is usually a malt beverage.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 mbrookes

 
mbrookes

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 642 posts
 

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:14 PM

I am happy as a clam with my gin and tonic, rum and coke, whatever I feel like. Cocktail time is one place I have not had to do without favorites, except beer.... and I'm getting used to Red Bridge.


  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: