Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Something To Consider At Indian Restaurants
0

8 posts in this topic

Asafoetida (hing) is a spice that's often used often in Indian cuisine and it usually has gluten in it.

 

Some restaurant managers don't even know that and unintentionally will serve you gluten so be sure to ask them whether they use it or not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Asafoetida (hing) is a spice that's often used often in Indian cuisine and it usually has gluten in it.

Some restaurant managers don't even know that and unintentionally will serve you gluten so be sure to ask them whether they use it or not.

Really? Mine is gluten free. Whole spices should be safe but I suppose if they use blends they may not be.

Just googled several sources and see where this may be true. I also read many articles said many brands are gluten free. Thanks for the info! It is good to know. I make my own Indian food but this is useful info for those who eat out.

Edited by love2travel
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Real Asafoetida is a dried latex from a root of a number of plants not at all related to wheat. Having cooked in India at the Taj in Bangalore and cooking INdian at home in Hawaii, I have never seen nor can imagine Asafoetida having gluten. It might just mean finding the real spice and not a powdered imitation or blend. I get my from MVspices.com

KEn

 

 

 

Really? Mine is gluten free. Whole spices should be safe but I suppose if they use blends they may not be.

Just googled several sources and see where this may be true. I also read many articles said many brands are gluten free. Thanks for the info! It is good to know. I make my own Indian food but this is useful info for those who eat out.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Real Asafoetida is a dried latex from a root of a number of plants not at all related to wheat. Having cooked in India at the Taj in Bangalore and cooking INdian at home in Hawaii, I have never seen nor can imagine Asafoetida having gluten. It might just mean finding the real spice and not a powdered imitation or blend. I get my from MVspices.com

KEn

 

It's news to me that you can buy it without wheat flour added! - here in the UK that's how it comes. Powdered and mixed with wheat flour. I've heard rumours of an Asafoetida powder that has rice flour instead, but can't find it and never knew that you could buy it in it's pure form...hmmm, I had a look at the site you mention - interesting! I shall now hunt for some resin - thanks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

unless they changed, I always got the small pieces of dried latex. a little  goes a long  way so I've not order that in a couple of  years.  Get a lot of other pickling spices from them too.

 

It's news to me that you can buy it without wheat flour added! - here in the UK that's how it comes. Powdered and mixed with wheat flour. I've heard rumours of an Asafoetida powder that has rice flour instead, but can't find it and never knew that you could buy it in it's pure form...hmmm, I had a look at the site you mention - interesting! I shall now hunt for some resin - thanks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




How do you pronounce it?  I've never had a problem from Indian food, but who knows.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The curry guru has told me over and over that all there curries are gluten free and some are dairy free also

there curries seams to be ok, at least i don't think I've had any problems except a little hot some times....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Asafoetida (hing) is a spice that's often used often in Indian cuisine and it usually has gluten in it.

 

Some restaurant managers don't even know that and unintentionally will serve you gluten so be sure to ask them whether they use it or not.

 

It's true - Asafoetida (hing), a common spice in Indian cooking, nearly always contains wheat flour.

http://celiact.com/blog/gluten-free-spices/

I would add this is the reason why we have the forums. It's easy enough to say, "it should be safe," but you shouldn't make statements (like some of the above comments) without checking facts first. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,918
    • Total Posts
      919,627
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Weird things people have said
      I've had people say strange things about celiac to me lately... Like someone said, "Oh I'm just a mild celiac so I don't have to worry about cross-contamination." And then someone else said that they're celiac but things have calmed down now so they can have a bit of gluten here and there. And I told my doctor that back in 2014 I thought I had been gluten free but I actually wasn't because I had been repeatedly glutening myself with an old colander. And he just looked at me like I was insane, like a colander?? Sure... I'm not crazy, right? Even if you have no symptoms you have to avoid cross-contamination because you can be doing damage internally right? You can never have 'just a bit'. And a colander is a big source of cross-contamination right?? I know all this but why do these other people not? Why does my doctor not know? So confusing and spreading misinformation... And then they look at me like *I'M* crazy.
    • fructose malabsorption and gluten intolerant
      Look up FODMAPS.   That might clarify things for you.  There really are a lot of diet recommendations so make sure you bring a list of questions regarding foods to your doctor's  and dietician's appointments.  
    • Recovery?
      Thank you for sharing those web sites. I will look at them. We have been gluten free since December so it's been a while. Once, he had a gluten free beer, the kind that they take the gluten out, and his legs felt very heavy and had a more difficult time walking. I really don't want to experiment.  Although I am very careful about what we eat, I am concerned that some of our medication could contain gluten. Is there any easier way to tell if medication has gluten. I did find a website which listed drugs and known gluten but every drug was on it or was determined to be gluten free
    • fructose malabsorption and gluten intolerant
      I don't have celiac but doctors or amazed I don't so they told me to fallow the gluten-free diet like I have it... any way I was wondering if one can have corn, corn starch if they have fructose malabsorption. I am so confused on what I can and can't have.. i have an appt next week hopefully with a dietitian... also can you have sugar free stuff since it's not sugar.. I'm reading online and I'm getting a bunch of mixed info on both. 
    • Depression / anxiety issues
      Hi all.  Still feeling the same way this past week. I'm thinking of dropping dairy starting from today, I don't know if I have a problem with it or not, but I drink 2 coffees a day with milk. I'm just constantly tired all the time, and getting trough the day is pretty hard, I noticed a couple of weeks ago that my sleep was improving but the last couple of days I have been waking up at least 3 times during the night, then when I get up in the morning it feels like I have been hit by a bus, like I haven't slept at all. I keep waking up during the night needing to drink water as I feel dehydrated, I don't know why as I drink 2-3 litres of water everyday 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      http://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/window-guts-brain
      Kind Regards,
      Matt
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,961
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    foodabc
    Joined