Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Will Barley, Rye And Oats Have To Be Declared Under The Fda Ruling?
0

3 posts in this topic

FDA recently made the 20 ppm gluten free rule official. Companies have a year or so to comply. 

 

Will this mean that barley, rye and oats have to be declared under the new FDA ruling (like in Canada) or will it still be just wheat?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

No.

The ruling only covers products labeled as "Gluten Free." It defines what those words mean. If the label does not say "Gluten Free," then there is no change to the rules. Under FALCPA, wheat must be clearly disclosed, but other gluten sources need not be.

In practice, rye and oats just don't hide. Barley can be listed as malt, or hidden in flavors, but seldom is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No.

The ruling only covers products labeled as "Gluten Free." It defines what those words mean. If the label does not say "Gluten Free," then there is no change to the rules. Under FALCPA, wheat must be clearly disclosed, but other gluten sources need not be.

In practice, rye and oats just don't hide. Barley can be listed as malt, or hidden in flavors, but seldom is.

 

Are there any plans in place for this to be covered? Would be nice to see the U.S. get what Canada has.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.