Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Rice Vinegar?


  • Please log in to reply

8 replies to this topic

#1 cinda

 
cinda

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
 

Posted 22 October 2005 - 06:36 PM

Not sure where to ask this her or in the eating out section .... sorry if this is the wrong place.. ..wondering if rice vinegar ok?... says it is made from fermentted rice... Not sure just thinking i guess sushi is out?
  • 0
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 cornbread

 
cornbread

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 258 posts
 

Posted 22 October 2005 - 06:54 PM

I would presume it's fine, as it's just made from rice, which is gluten-free. I have eaten a lot of sushi since being gluten-free to no ill effect. I always take my wheat free soy sauce though of course. :)
  • 0

#3 bluelotus

 
bluelotus

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 498 posts
 

Posted 22 October 2005 - 07:40 PM

I make my own sushi at home. So, a couple of months ago, I emailed Kame - they make a "seasoned japanese rice vinegar" and said this product was gluten free. I wouldn't know about other brands b/c this is the only one I looked into.

Hope that helps!
  • 0
The temple bell stops
but the sound keeps coming
out of the flowers
-Zen Haiku Master Basho

#4 cornbread

 
cornbread

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 258 posts
 

Posted 22 October 2005 - 09:19 PM

Bobcatgirl - do you make fish sushi or just veggie stuff?

I would love to eat it at home but am too scared about the purchasing/transportation/preparation of raw fish...

Even so, veggie sushi would be great! Any tips? Recipes? :)
  • 0

#5 cinda

 
cinda

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
 

Posted 22 October 2005 - 09:31 PM

I would presume it's fine, as it's just made from rice, which is gluten-free.  I have eaten a lot of sushi since being gluten-free to no ill effect.  I always take my wheat free soy sauce though of course.  :)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I did a search on here after i ordered my takeout... There are a few posts saying that sushi is ok.... just not the imitation crab ones... I love my wheat free soy sauce : )
thanks for you help
cin
  • 0
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away

#6 Guest_nini_*

 
Guest_nini_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 23 October 2005 - 08:06 AM

I make veggie sushi at home with rice vinegar and no problems... I use the Marukan brand.
  • 0

#7 bluelotus

 
bluelotus

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 498 posts
 

Posted 23 October 2005 - 01:06 PM

I don't use raw fish. I use cooked shrimp (either purchased raw and I cook it or purchased cooked), and I roll the shrimp with cucumber, carrots, and avacado. My husband (not gluten-free) has made sushi with smoked salmon (many of which are gluten-free). When he does this, he uses cream cheese and cucumber as well. Since I can't tolerate dairy, I haven't eaten these, but they look good. I have tried canned crabmeat, but the flavor isn't very strong, so it tends to get lost with the rice and veggies.
  • 0
The temple bell stops
but the sound keeps coming
out of the flowers
-Zen Haiku Master Basho

#8 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 24 October 2005 - 11:34 AM

Rice vinegar (that doesn't have added ingredients) is safe. (Most seasoned ones are safe too.) Sushi is not universally OK, a lot of varieties of sushi have a sauce in them - particulalry things like eel. And, as you noted, imitation crab is right out. If there's a sauce in it (and mayonaise based sauces are also popular and I don't know what all they contain), I'd steer clear. Other than that, you' re probably ok. A good asian market can get you very fresh, sushi grade fish, that you can transport home in a cooler and use the same day for sashimi and the like. There's always a parasite risk, but that's about as minimal as you can go. (If you're near a port, check there too.)
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#9 cinda

 
cinda

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
 

Posted 24 October 2005 - 02:37 PM

the oriental market i go to sells sashimi frozen... we thaw it and eat it.. my hubby is japanese and he told me it is the way they freeze if that makes it safe... told me that they freeze it soo cold that it kills the parsites... but after it is thawed you need to eat it within a few days .. and if any left then cook it because it is not safe to eat raw after that...
cin
  • 0
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: