This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

My Son Needs Help.....

bkboerst

bkboerst Newbie

Hi Folks:

I am new to the celiac disease world.  My son was colic when he was a baby and no w at 15just found out he has celiac disease.  The day we found out, it was like a big relief to him.  He was happy, for once.

He was feeling like crap for this many years.  Poor kid!  On to a new chapter and hopefully a better one.  It seems as though he gets more depressed every day.  He doesn't want to go to school.  He knows we cannot fathom the idea of going out to eat.  We order gluten free pizza and on the box it reads "made in a gluten infested facility" so he doesn't want to eat that.  His attitude sucks.  Crabby and sometimes even mean to others.  He has missed so much school because he never feels good.  What can I do to make him feel better?  I need help.  I want my son to live life to the fullest and it seems it is just going down the tubes.  He is on an anti-depressant (Setraline which is like Zoloff).  This is the only one the psycologist will give him due to his age.

He refuses to eat any fruits or vegetables because of the texture.  I buy gluten free crackers and cookies.  He will not even try them.  I will make a gluten free meal for all of us and sometimes he won't even eat it telling me he does not like it.  I am angry and frustrated.  I want to have him talk to someone professionally but don't even know where to start looking.  Help?????

Brenda in Wisconsin

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

bartfull Rising Star

Poor kid!