This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Help, Newbie Here With Lots Of Questions.

grey66

grey66 Newbie

Hi everyone,

My husband was recently diagnosed with Celiacs disease. I have a ton of questions.

I've read that I need to keep everything separated. From cooking utensils to dishes to food. Is this true? Is this for everyone or just the extreme end of it? Do I have to worry about seasonings? Such as the McCormicks seasonings? What type of flour can I keep on hand to substitute for regular flour in recipes? How about conversions? Ie; 1 cp regular flour to how many gluten free cups of flour?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

BelleVie Enthusiast

Hi grey, it would be a good idea to check out the Newbie 101 thread. It will give you all of the information you need to get started.  :D It can seem overwhelming at first, but you will get the hang of things. It will eventually become second nature! 

nvsmom Community Regular

Welcome to the board.  :)

You don't need to keep everything separated unless it's likely to become contaminated before it is used on gluten-free cooking. Things like cutlery are safe if washed well but if your cutlery drawer is anything like mine, it tends to fill up with crumbs and that won't be safe unless the gluten-free person washes cutlery before using it.