More of a rant here, sorry.
This is a great place to eat gluten free for a once in a while treat, but some staff isn't as well educated as they advertise they are.
Today they are offering a discounted rate and a free dessert. Three of the desserts were obvious gluten items, but the 4th item, Flan, I wasn't familiar with. So because of my unfamiliarity with Flan I began asking questions.
Previously I was told creme brulee was gluten free. Any cook could tell you there is no gluten containing ingredients in a basic creme brulee recipe, but we all know the rule...always assume there is gluten because it's the ridiculous things sometimes. I've eaten the creme brulee once before with no reaction.
So called to make a reservation and asked if they would kindly substitute since it was gluten free. They had to ask a manager. Then she came back and said the only thing gluten free is the sorbet. ARGH! Called the corporate office and they weren't overly helpful...talked to 3 different people before finding the ingredients, which are exactly what one would expect cream brulee to have. (sugar, cream, vanilla, eggs)
So just a word of caution you may get different answers.
The bread they have is SOOO good and it's gluten free naturally due to the Tapioca flour they use. Most other items are gluten free, minus a few things, and the manager will personally walk you around the entire salad bar and tell you what has gluten and WHY! Couldn't have been more shocked the first time I went and the manager points to these chopped greens that looked like chopped parsley and said that's not gluten free because we put a small amount of bulger wheat in it or you can't have the chicken because it's marinated in beer without needing to explain the entire celiac bible.
So overall it's a great place to eat out for a once in a while treat, but beware their training practices are not as good as advertised and will leave you worried about putting food in your mouth.
What they told me was gluten free:
* All meats, exceptions below
* Cheese bread - did I say OMG yet?
* Most items on salad bar
What they told me is not gluten free: (not listing the totally obvious things)
* Chicken because it's marinated in beer and sausage
* The sausage is not made in house and they won't disclose what spices they use. The real kicker is the sausage comes on skewers bumped right up against the chicken...so that doesn't work. I have been told they would make some sausage special away from the chicken, but again it's one thing they can't be for sure on...so I assume it's a flour stick.
* The finely chopped green salad w/ bulgar wheat