This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Cross Contamination Help!

Jackie F

Jackie F Newbie

I am somewhat new with a Celiacs Diagnosis, (2 months) via biopsy and blood tests.  Short version, I get VERY VERY ill within an hour (+/-) after ingesting Gluten.  I get anxiety, racing heart, palpitations, sweating for about 8-12 hours and then the stomach pains, vomiting/upset stomach and finally fatigue and numbness in joints!  All in all, miserable for about 24 hours!

Sorry for the graphic detail above, but just still annoyed, frustrated, etc.  Anyhow, Last night my Fiance and I had a gluten free dinner.  Chicken, fresh green beans and potatoes.  I used Certified Gluten Free Hidden Valley Farms seasoning mix.  About and hour later the awkward feelings started..the anxiety, heart and so on.  We looked at all the ingredients this morning, checked Hidden Valley Farms websites for cross contamination.  Nothing!

So, the one thing we traced it back to was he had drank a beer and we were using the same dipping sauce for the chicken.  Is it POSSIBLE to get that sick from him contaminating the sauce?  We used the same bowl and of course, "double dipping" :).  This is the second time in a month this has happened.  I ate off his fork at a restaurant and then had some of his steak the next day and got sick.  We blamed it on the restaurant, but I had steak and did not get sick until I ate his leftovers the next day.  Can another person's mouth contaminate my food if they have had gluten?  Crazy question I know, but this is a crazy disease! 

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):