19 replies to this topic

#1 Bamms

Bamms

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 27 February 2014 - 02:50 PM

Hi, my 7 year old daughter has just been diagnosed with Celiac disease and is lactose intolerant. I am new to all this, and would like suggestions on foods that kids might like and the best places to buy them at. Also, is Trader Joe's cheaper than Whole Foods? Could you tell me the pros and cons? Can I find some of the same gluten free and dairy free foods and Walmart? Thanks so much!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

HO! HO! HO!

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,320 posts

Posted 27 February 2014 - 02:55 PM

Lots of foods are gluten-free and df. So you should be able to do most of your shopping at Walmart. Walmart seems to have a few gluten-free pasta choices. Not sure about bread. I have seen Udis at Target.

santa-dance.gif

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry

“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin

“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone

#3 bartfull

bartfull

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,607 posts

Posted 27 February 2014 - 03:18 PM

And make sure you read the Newbie 101 thread in the coping section.

gluten-free since June, 2011

Can't eat soy, corn, or foods high in salicylates.

Nightshades now seem to bother me too.

BUT I CAN STILL PLAY MY GUITAR AND THAT"S ALL THAT MATTERS!

#4 greenbeanie

greenbeanie

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts

Posted 27 February 2014 - 03:35 PM