#1 allergyprone

allergyprone

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 83 posts

Posted 12 March 2014 - 02:43 PM

Hi guys,

I recently (yesterday) was diagnosed via a prick test that I have allergies to rice, walnuts, pork and grapefruit. I have already am pork, walnut, and grapefruit free, but I am having trouble finding gluten free and rice free foods. Does anyone know any good gluten and rice free recipes? or products. I am also trying to limit corn. And to top it all off I am a college student without a job, so would it just be a good idea to cut out all grains? like the paleo diet? (I haven't done much research on this so I may be thinking of something else)

Thanks

AP

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 T.H.

T.H.

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,816 posts

Posted 12 March 2014 - 02:48 PM

I found it easiest to get on a paleo kind of diet when I started having trouble with other grains, especially rice - it's just in nearly everything, as I'm sure you've seen.  

Just starting off, for recipes - this gal had some nice recipes when I was looking for things to make:

http://nomnompaleo.com

T.H.

Gluten free since August 10, 2009.
21 years with undiagnosed Celiac Disease

23 years with undiagnosed sulfite sensitivity

25 years with undiagnosed mast cell activation disorder (MCAD) 

Daughter: celiac and MCAD positive

Son: gluten intolerant
Father, brother: celiac positive

#3 StephanieL

StephanieL

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 927 posts

Posted 12 March 2014 - 04:41 PM

Why did you have testing?  Unless you've had a reaction it isn't recommended to test for things.  What kinds of reactions were you having that you had testing done?

#4 Juliebove

Juliebove

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,650 posts

Posted 12 March 2014 - 04:43 PM

If I were you, I would use potatoes for a sub. You can prick them and cook in the microwave.

#5 allergyprone

allergyprone

• Advanced Members