#1 NurseSati

NurseSati

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 March 2014 - 04:12 PM

Hello,

I had the ttg and another test done that say yes I have celiac. I understand that this is not diagnostic but indicative. My symptoms are: terrible constipation, gas, fatigue, foggy head feeling after eating gluten, hair falling out in clumps, and stomach swelling after gluten meal. I pretty much am sure I have it and ready to move to a gluten free diet.

My doctor referred me to a gastroenterologist. I called the office and asked what is the point? I am a nurse, I can research and change my diet appropriately. Then I figured out they want me to have an endoscopy... which I know is definitive. Well I have good insurance. But my parents are really agianst any other testing. They have gone gluten free and want me not to go to the doctor anymore and follow suit. Which I am fine with but I want to at least connect with a GI about possible yearly blood tests or something so I know I am OK because my symptoms come and go and are really vague.

Anyways... Is this test really necessary. My parents will make me pay for whatever is not covered by insurance so I will be charging it.

Thanks,

Whitney

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

Be Royal

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,117 posts

Posted 21 March 2014 - 04:21 PM

Hello,
I had the ttg and another test done that say yes I have celiac. I understand that this is not diagnostic but indicative. My symptoms are: terrible constipation, gas, fatigue, foggy head feeling after eating gluten, hair falling out in clumps, and stomach swelling after gluten meal. I pretty much am sure I have it and ready to move to a gluten free diet.