This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Fecal Transparent Cure For Celiac Disease?

mikeypick1

mikeypick1 Newbie

Hi!

WARNING! EXTREMELY HIGH ICK-FACTOR!

I'm new to Celiac Disease, and thus this site as well. Though I'm still waiting on blood work to come back, I'm nearly a week into a gluten-free diet and can already tell a major difference. My doctor told me to do some research on a gluten free diet and I must admit that I have been experiencing an amalgamation of excitement for a conclusion to a 15 year search, a fear of the implications of having celiac disease, and an intense dread of having a lifetime of a gluten-free diet.

All that said, in researching cure research progress, I came across several inferences and references to a cure. Unfortunately, however, that cure is a fecal transplant from a perfectly healthy donor. Here is a starter link to one article, if anyone is curious:

Open Original Shared Link

It seems to take a good bit of research to piece together tidbits from here and there to get an idea of where this procedure is headed.

There is also a video on YouTube of a woman showing how to do this from home.

The only drawback I am aware of, so far and beyond the obvious ICK-factor, is that antibiotics could necessitate another transplant.

I am wondering if anyone has any experience or insight into this. If a fecal transplant really can cure celiac disease, what an equally gross and amazing thing! What could this mean for those with celiac, and what can we do to further this along?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kareng Grand Master