Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Frank's Red Hot - Is The Distilled Vinegar From Corn Or Wheat?
0

17 posts in this topic

hi everyone, this is my first post!  :rolleyes:

 

so I love frank's red hot, and also happen to be very congested, so I figured it'd be a good idea to cook dinner with that tonight! BUT - distilled vinegar is one of the ingredients and unfortunately I am one of those that is extra sensitive and will react if the vinegar is distilled from wheat, as opposed to corn. 

 

I called the company but they're already closed for the day so I figured I'd post on here to see if anyone already knew. 

 

Thanks!

 

 

 

- Amanda

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

It is scientifically impossible for gluten to be in distilled anything. Enjoy!

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Addy is giving you the plain truth..  :)

 

"The number one frequently asked question concerns vinegar.  All vinegars except for malt vinegar are gluten-free. Distilled vinegar can be derived from a variety of ingredients including apples and rice, and from grains such as corn or wheat. Although distilled vinegar can be made from wheat, the distillation process removes the gluten protein, and the final product does not contain any residual gluten. However, malt vinegar is made from fermented barley and is not distilled; therefore, malt vinegar contains a small amount of gluten and must be avoided by those following the gluten-free diet."

 

 

http://www.delightglutenfree.com/glutenfreemyths#.U2LcAmp93vE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

in response to the comments so far - I appreciate the feed back, but regardless of whether or not there truly is no gluten post distillation process I still react. That is to anything originally from a gluten containing grain, whether it be distilled white vinegar or whiskey.. if it came from wheat/barley/rye/etc.,  I WILL react! 

 

 

So again, if anyone simply knows what grain(s) the vinegar in frank's red hot comes from, the info would be much appreciated! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Then I guess your option is to get ahold of the company tomorrow.

 

Good Luck

 

Colleen

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




and PS

 

I used Frank's to make wings for super bowl. No problem whatsoever and I am pretty sensitive to gluten.

 

and their website says this:

 

: Yes, Frank's RedHot Original, XTRA Hot, Buffalo Wings Sauce, Chile 'n Lime™, Hot Buffalo Wings Sauce, Kickin' BBQ Sauce, Sweet Chili Sauce and Ketchup Style Sauce are gluten free. None of the ingredients used to make Frank's RedHot wing sauce contain any gluten.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know the super sensitives on this forum probably won't eat it, no matter what grain the vinegar is made from. They eat almost no processed foods at all because of their sensitivities.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

we use Frank's  as well with no problems.. so  maybe you are super  sensitive or  it  could be  another ingredient  that you are  reacting to  but  of  course if it bothers  you avoid it....there  are lots of foods  I react to  that have nothing to do with gluten... I  someties  can eat them on their own  but add another food  & I'm sick...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the forum, Meowndy.  A fellow crazy cat lady?  When you get a chance take a look at some of the discussions in the Super sensitive category.  There are some things there that you may find helpful since the regular Celiac rules sometimes aren't enough for that group of people.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While it may be impossible for gluten to get distilled, it is not impossible for gluten in the facility to contaminated the distillate.  The fact that many producers list allergens in a facility on the label would indicate that it can be a problem.  It is very hard to be certain where a reaction originates.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That may be true (all things seem possible, I suppose) but the fact remains.

 

No gluten in the product.

 

People who are very sensitive to gluten are saying "I have used it and it's not a problem"

 

We could argue "possibilities" all day long", I suppose.

 

But I'm not willing to do that. I gave up arguing. It's great for reducing stress. ^_^

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i use it :)  it's gluten free.  also, downright yummy!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Franks Red Hot Mixed with Ranch makes a great buffalo dipping sauce for pretty much anything :)  Especially chicken.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My daughter is in the same boat with ketchup, and was told Heinz ketchup was completely gluten free. Distilled vinegar regardless of gluten or not bothers her. I did an experiment and made my own Heinz ketchup at home (YouTube), same ingredients and spices, but used apple cider vinegar. No reaction. So then I made pasta sauce that she normally reacts too with apple cider vinegar, and no reaction again. I'll bet there's a recipe out there for your same hot sauce you could make yourself using apple cider vinegar instead.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My daughter is in the same boat with ketchup, and was told Heinz ketchup was completely gluten free. Distilled vinegar regardless of gluten or not bothers her. I did an experiment and made my own Heinz ketchup at home (YouTube), same ingredients and spices, but used apple cider vinegar. No reaction. So then I made pasta sauce that she normally reacts too with apple cider vinegar, and no reaction again. I'll bet there's a recipe out there for your same hot sauce you could make yourself using apple cider vinegar instead.

yes, this is exactly what I'm going through. Great idea, making your own. Maybe i'll make my own and bottle it up so I don't have to worry about it!

Thanks a lot!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I grew hot peppers (habanero), roasted them in olive oil, added some more olive oil, put the whole thing in a blender and I have enough hot sauce in the freezer to last a long time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you guys are new to celiac it just might be that your stomachs can't handle it right now, not that you are sensitive to it.  Give your stomach a chance to heal.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,667
    • Total Posts
      921,670
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Marip, Have you been diagnosed with celiac disease or Non-celiac Gluten Intolerance?  I notice you joined in 2014.  Did you ever go guten free?  How can we help?   Sorry, I'm not a stool expert!  You could Google it...  Malabsorption?  Standard lab tests that check for anemia and vitamin deficiencies, etc.  should help make that diagnosis.  
    • You can eat just a slice or two (or equivalent) of bread a day for accurate testing.   I understand about the high deductibles.  We're self-employed and we pay for our health insurance. 
    • Sure, if it's gluten free, then fine.  I am very allergic (like anaphylactic) to ibuprofen and aspirin.  So, in my case, I would just tough it out.  Go to bed.  Sleep it off.....eventually. My money is on the garlic and onions.  I can't consume those either (damn that zonulin/leaky gut -- google it along with Dr. Fasano).  I just season with salt, pepper.  Boring.  But no gut issues.  I'm hoping like my lactose intolerance (resolved), that I will get garlic and onions back.   Finally, sometimes just eating anything can hurt when you still have intestinal damage.  Hopefully, you'll feel better in two or three hours if it's celiac related.  Longer if it's an intolerance (leaky gut thing....) Hugs!      
    • I read on their website that all Advil is gluten free, I had such bad pinching cramping today(which I don't why since I prepared all my food at home today.) I made a pot roast, salt garlic, onions...No gluten but still pain, That's the only thing I ate today..I don't eat breakfast or anything.   Anyways.   Is it a good idea to take Advil for the cramping? That's how I would describe it like someone is reaching inside me and pinching me and twisting my insides.    This is what I took  
    • I'll give my PCP a call tomorrow and see what they can offer. My only worry is the expense as anymore tests will put me behind in being able to afford to see the GI. I have high deductible insurance but get money put into my HSA. I'm still trying to pay off the CT scan though. Which is why I'm trying to pick and choose which poses the greatest risk for me right now and what can wait. (Though I would prefer not to wait on any of it.)

      I really do hope its only IBS. Though I always worry IBS is more or less a doctors way of saying "I have no clue" at that point. :C

      Again, I'll be sure to give my PCP a call tomorrow then and see what the options are. I can feel a lot better trying the blood work first. however, once that is done, do I still need to be on a gluten diet before the endoscopy? Also, is it ok if I still mildly reduce the gluten. As in, can I avoid a whole wheat pasta dinner, but still be eating the peanut butter crackers? That sort of thing. Again I guess that is more of a doctor related question. I just wasn't sure if in order to raise your chance, you have to mass consume gluten or not. (Its already in just about everything to begin with.)   --Edit--
      I just now reread the part that you still need to be on the gluten foods even for biopsy so I'll be sure to do that too.
       
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,666
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    epalmer9
    Joined