Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Frank's Red Hot - Is The Distilled Vinegar From Corn Or Wheat?
0

17 posts in this topic

hi everyone, this is my first post!  :rolleyes:

 

so I love frank's red hot, and also happen to be very congested, so I figured it'd be a good idea to cook dinner with that tonight! BUT - distilled vinegar is one of the ingredients and unfortunately I am one of those that is extra sensitive and will react if the vinegar is distilled from wheat, as opposed to corn. 

 

I called the company but they're already closed for the day so I figured I'd post on here to see if anyone already knew. 

 

Thanks!

 

 

 

- Amanda

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

It is scientifically impossible for gluten to be in distilled anything. Enjoy!

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Addy is giving you the plain truth..  :)

 

"The number one frequently asked question concerns vinegar.  All vinegars except for malt vinegar are gluten-free. Distilled vinegar can be derived from a variety of ingredients including apples and rice, and from grains such as corn or wheat. Although distilled vinegar can be made from wheat, the distillation process removes the gluten protein, and the final product does not contain any residual gluten. However, malt vinegar is made from fermented barley and is not distilled; therefore, malt vinegar contains a small amount of gluten and must be avoided by those following the gluten-free diet."

 

 

http://www.delightglutenfree.com/glutenfreemyths#.U2LcAmp93vE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

in response to the comments so far - I appreciate the feed back, but regardless of whether or not there truly is no gluten post distillation process I still react. That is to anything originally from a gluten containing grain, whether it be distilled white vinegar or whiskey.. if it came from wheat/barley/rye/etc.,  I WILL react! 

 

 

So again, if anyone simply knows what grain(s) the vinegar in frank's red hot comes from, the info would be much appreciated! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Then I guess your option is to get ahold of the company tomorrow.

 

Good Luck

 

Colleen

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




and PS

 

I used Frank's to make wings for super bowl. No problem whatsoever and I am pretty sensitive to gluten.

 

and their website says this:

 

: Yes, Frank's RedHot Original, XTRA Hot, Buffalo Wings Sauce, Chile 'n Lime™, Hot Buffalo Wings Sauce, Kickin' BBQ Sauce, Sweet Chili Sauce and Ketchup Style Sauce are gluten free. None of the ingredients used to make Frank's RedHot wing sauce contain any gluten.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know the super sensitives on this forum probably won't eat it, no matter what grain the vinegar is made from. They eat almost no processed foods at all because of their sensitivities.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

we use Frank's  as well with no problems.. so  maybe you are super  sensitive or  it  could be  another ingredient  that you are  reacting to  but  of  course if it bothers  you avoid it....there  are lots of foods  I react to  that have nothing to do with gluten... I  someties  can eat them on their own  but add another food  & I'm sick...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the forum, Meowndy.  A fellow crazy cat lady?  When you get a chance take a look at some of the discussions in the Super sensitive category.  There are some things there that you may find helpful since the regular Celiac rules sometimes aren't enough for that group of people.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While it may be impossible for gluten to get distilled, it is not impossible for gluten in the facility to contaminated the distillate.  The fact that many producers list allergens in a facility on the label would indicate that it can be a problem.  It is very hard to be certain where a reaction originates.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That may be true (all things seem possible, I suppose) but the fact remains.

 

No gluten in the product.

 

People who are very sensitive to gluten are saying "I have used it and it's not a problem"

 

We could argue "possibilities" all day long", I suppose.

 

But I'm not willing to do that. I gave up arguing. It's great for reducing stress. ^_^

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i use it :)  it's gluten free.  also, downright yummy!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Franks Red Hot Mixed with Ranch makes a great buffalo dipping sauce for pretty much anything :)  Especially chicken.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My daughter is in the same boat with ketchup, and was told Heinz ketchup was completely gluten free. Distilled vinegar regardless of gluten or not bothers her. I did an experiment and made my own Heinz ketchup at home (YouTube), same ingredients and spices, but used apple cider vinegar. No reaction. So then I made pasta sauce that she normally reacts too with apple cider vinegar, and no reaction again. I'll bet there's a recipe out there for your same hot sauce you could make yourself using apple cider vinegar instead.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My daughter is in the same boat with ketchup, and was told Heinz ketchup was completely gluten free. Distilled vinegar regardless of gluten or not bothers her. I did an experiment and made my own Heinz ketchup at home (YouTube), same ingredients and spices, but used apple cider vinegar. No reaction. So then I made pasta sauce that she normally reacts too with apple cider vinegar, and no reaction again. I'll bet there's a recipe out there for your same hot sauce you could make yourself using apple cider vinegar instead.

yes, this is exactly what I'm going through. Great idea, making your own. Maybe i'll make my own and bottle it up so I don't have to worry about it!

Thanks a lot!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I grew hot peppers (habanero), roasted them in olive oil, added some more olive oil, put the whole thing in a blender and I have enough hot sauce in the freezer to last a long time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you guys are new to celiac it just might be that your stomachs can't handle it right now, not that you are sensitive to it.  Give your stomach a chance to heal.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,337
    • Total Posts
      920,459
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Acne are not itchy or only mildly itchy and they look like red bumps with or without white centers. The bumps are quite separated from each other. What did you start to eat after going gluten-free? More fruits and sugary foods? This can trigger acne.  http://www.ehealthstar.com/conditions/acne-vulgaris Dermatitis herpetiformis can be very itchy and the bumps are more close together and they tend to crust over.  
    • What about Xanthan gum?  It really bothers me, so I avoid most commercially processed gluten-free breads, etc.  Never bothers my hubby though.  
    • I use to get them before I went gluten-free.  I stopped eating oats because it also does give me canker sores and causes my toes to get cracked underneath.  
    • I had quite a few of the medical problems that you have before I figured out that gluten was the problem. I can’t do basic math or writing when I eat gluten also I get depressed, irritable, low energy, etc. The best route to go is to do an elimination diet and monitor how certain foods affect you. I eliminated MSG (Monosodium Glutamate), Nitrite, and oat based on the reactions that I get once I consume them. You must be disciplined on a gluten free diet, there is not such a thing as –It is just one cookie! If you can manage to go 100% gluten-free for three weeks and you see those problems going away, you will have a good idea if that is the cause of your problems. The blood test I did after being gluten-free for two years came back negative so the doctor just make me feel that I was crazy and making things up. I have a stool test done which came back with elevated igA also a gene test indicating I have two genes that code for gluten sensitivity. My lactose intolerance went away too, eating a lot of cheese now. Rash in arms? gone, Brown spots in teeth? Gone, Intestinal noises? Gone, Lack of bladder control? Gone, Constipation? Gone, and a lot others.   
    • Oh you're most welcome!  Another thing --- no steroids, oral or injected for 2 months prior to a dh biopsy. Lay off any topical steroid creams for 2 weeks prior. Really, stand your ground with them. It would also be great if you can get a friend or family member to go with you in case they take the biopsy from somewhere that you can't see such as the back of your neck. Your friend/family member can watch to make sure they don't take it directly ON a lesion. Do you have a primary care doc? You can also go to that doc & ask for a full celiac panel PLUS an eTG or TG3. 60% of people with dh test negative on the celiac blood panel but maybe you're one of the 40% who will test positive. It's worth a shot.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,402
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    GKosmac
    Joined