Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Glucose Syrup From Poland


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 higher

higher

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 July 2014 - 08:45 PM

I heard that, was it england? or all of europe? i dont remember, but someplace over there makes it's glucose syrup with wheat. Is this also accurate for poland? I have candies imported from poland that are made with it.


  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 GF Lover

GF Lover

    Melanoma Warrior

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,477 posts

Posted 05 July 2014 - 04:33 AM

Glucose syrup can be made from 6 different sources.  (Corn, potatoes, wheat, barley, rice and cassava) US source is commonly corn.  You would have to contact the Manufacturer of the Candies to find out what they are sourced with if not on the ingredient list.

 

Colleen


  • 0

:D HAVE A SUPER SHINY DAY :D

 

LTES gem 2014

*BiPolar, Major Depression, Anxiety *Hypothyroidism, *Celiac

*Metastatic Melanoma, *Immunotherapy Mitigated Vitiligo, *General Insanity

"We cautiously travel through life to arrive safely at our death" - J. R. C. , my Son.

 

Are We There Yet? and Dad says...All you have to do it ride it out.

 

Comments/views/opinions expressed on the site are my own and are not representative of Forum Admin/Owner

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderat


#3 psawyer

psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,996 posts

Posted 05 July 2014 - 06:24 AM

Glucose syrup is a highly refined sugar, and is gluten-free regardless of what the source was. In the US and Canada, if wheat is the source, that must be disclosed on the label.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#4 higher

higher

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 July 2014 - 11:58 PM

Glucose syrup is a highly refined sugar, and is gluten-free regardless of what the source was. In the US and Canada, if wheat is the source, that must be disclosed on the label.

 Ok so even if it's imported from overseas in a foreign foods store, the ingredients list would have to comply under canada's rules and state that there's wheat?


  • 0

#5 psawyer

psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,996 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 07:49 AM

Ok so even if it's imported from overseas in a foreign foods store, the ingredients list would have to comply under canada's rules and state that there's wheat?

Yes, to be sold legally in Canada, it must conform to Canadian label rules.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#6 GF Lover

GF Lover

    Melanoma Warrior

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,477 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 09:40 AM

Peter, Thanks for clarifying.

 

Colleen


  • 0

:D HAVE A SUPER SHINY DAY :D

 

LTES gem 2014

*BiPolar, Major Depression, Anxiety *Hypothyroidism, *Celiac

*Metastatic Melanoma, *Immunotherapy Mitigated Vitiligo, *General Insanity

"We cautiously travel through life to arrive safely at our death" - J. R. C. , my Son.

 

Are We There Yet? and Dad says...All you have to do it ride it out.

 

Comments/views/opinions expressed on the site are my own and are not representative of Forum Admin/Owner

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderat



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: