Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Most Ridiculous Gluten Comment I've Heard


  • Please log in to reply

86 replies to this topic

#76

 
BlessedMommy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,461 posts
 

Posted 30 December 2014 - 07:40 AM

We were at my IL's house this past Sunday. (FIL and step MIL) My SIL is currently trying to stay away from gluten (because of her thyroid) and step MIL offered her some cookies. SIL said, "Thanks but I'll have to pass because I can't have wheat." Step MIL replied, "Oh they don't have any wheat in them, just white flour."


  • 1

~Ruth

Gluten free since 2/14/2010 after suffering a rare and serious complication from my gluten challenge

 

 

 

 

 

 


Celiac.com Sponsor:

#77

 
Kimbalou

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
 

Posted 04 January 2015 - 11:05 AM

I just recently found out sushi rice is not gluten free. So, I've stopped eating sushi. Maybe your neighbor was thinking about sushi? there's something about the way they prepare it to make it sticky. But...on the other hand...people are so clueless about what gluten is. Like the wheat vs. white flour. ugh


  • 0
11/19/10 diagnosed with Celiac disease after positive blood test
12/14/10 Biopsy positive for Celiac disease

#78

 
BlessedMommy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,461 posts
 

Posted 04 January 2015 - 03:42 PM

Plain sushi rice (as in, dry out of the package) is gluten free. Additives that a restaurant adds to make sushi could possibly be unsafe though. But the rice itself is fine. I just bought a bag of Lundberg sushi rice to make homemade sushi and it is clearly marked gluten free. You can also buy rice vinegar labelled gluten free if you want to flavor your homemade sushi a bit. I make sushi a lot with just plain rice and vegetables and that is really good too. :)
  • 0

~Ruth

Gluten free since 2/14/2010 after suffering a rare and serious complication from my gluten challenge

 

 

 

 

 

 


#79

 
Kimbalou

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
 

Posted 04 January 2015 - 07:31 PM

I am referring to how a restaurant makes sushi. they mKe it sticky somehow and when i googled it the article said the way its prepared is not gluten-free.
  • 0
11/19/10 diagnosed with Celiac disease after positive blood test
12/14/10 Biopsy positive for Celiac disease

#80

 
WinterSong

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
 

Posted 04 January 2015 - 07:57 PM

I love topics like this. Especially love the gluten-free guitars. If there is music going into my ears it must be gluten free  :D

 

I was at a restaurant once, asking if a certain dish is gluten free. Says the waiter, "It should be gluten free. I've eaten it a bunch of times and have never tasted gluten." Says the voice inside my head, "Get me another waiter....."

 

 

I especially love the, "Oh yes, I'm gluten free as well," comment as they take a big bite of bread or chicken smothered in a gluten-filled sauce. 


  • 0

Diagnosed with IBS - Fall 2007

Diagnosed with Celiac via blood test (tTg off the charts) - March 18th, 2011

Gluten free as of March 25th, 2011 and going strong!

Positive biopsy April 1st, 2011

 

Blood test results back down to normal levels November 2012


#81

 
kareng

    BRRRRRRRR!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,440 posts
 

Posted 04 January 2015 - 08:19 PM

I am referring to how a restaurant makes sushi. they mKe it sticky somehow and when i googled it the article said the way its prepared is not gluten-free.

"Glutinous rice" or sticky rice does not contain gluten. It uses the word gluten to mean sticky. It is a type of rice that is naturally sticky when cooked.


http://www.epicuriou...ice-flour-.html
  • 0


"A lot of people like snow. I find it to be an unnecessary freezing of water."

-Carl Reiner

 

"Snow and adolescence are the only problems that disappear if you ignore them long enough."

-Earl Wilson

 

"We build statues out of snow, and weep to see them melt."

-Walter Scott

snowman-skiing.gif

 
 
 

 


#82

 
Serielda

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 197 posts
 

Posted 06 January 2015 - 01:03 AM

Was in New Orleans recently and saw two things that made me laugh. One was Voodoo dolls with a sign stating they was gluten free, the other was a bit odder. It was some sort of candle that was allegedly blessed to prevent being glutened and or cross contaminated. I looked at my hubby and if only these worked.
  • 0

#83

 
HappyMom623

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
 

Posted 06 January 2015 - 01:40 PM

My grandfather who has a hard time wrapping his head around gluten free foods calls my gluten free foods "GLUTEN FOODS" I want to be like "Uh.. no. The exact opposite, actually!"

 

His live in companion (who really isn't smart) will offer me pretzels EVERY SINGE TIME I go over. I say "I can't have those" and then she will offer me cookies..


  • 0

~Brittany

Mom to Harper (born June 2014), Wife, Marathoner, and Sober since 6/3/2012.

 

Dx'ed 1/23/2011

Suspect Thyroid Issues (Mother has Hashi's)

 


#84

 
MitziG

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
 

Posted 10 January 2015 - 06:34 PM

I had this glorious dream yesterday morning... I went into a pizzeria, the kind with the big wood-fired ovens and concrete floors (stems from a conversation I had w/ a local chef who is opening a wood-fired grill). I could smell the pizzas. A man came up and asked to take my order, I said, sadly, "I can't have pizza". He looked sad, and asked why, so I told him. He said, "no problem. I can make it". He proceeded to go to a shiny metal table and scrub it clean, taking out all new bowls and mixing up the dough. He carefully arranged all the ingredients on the top. He was in the midst of putting it in the oven when my husband woke me up...

 

Damn it. I really wanted to try that pizza.

LOL,. I frequently have dreams where my celiac miraculously just "went away" and so I dig right into a delicious donut...I really miss real donuts. The gluten-free ones are just...meh. I always wake up so disappointed!


  • 0

#85

 
MitziG

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
 

Posted 10 January 2015 - 06:37 PM

I love topics like this. Especially love the gluten-free guitars. If there is music going into my ears it must be gluten free  :D

 

I was at a restaurant once, asking if a certain dish is gluten free. Says the waiter, "It should be gluten free. I've eaten it a bunch of times and have never tasted gluten." Says the voice inside my head, "Get me another waiter....."

 

 

I especially love the, "Oh yes, I'm gluten free as well," comment as they take a big bite of bread or chicken smothered in a gluten-filled sauce. 

Of course you can taste gluten! It is called DELICIOUSNESS. Gives it away every time for me. As in, "Wow, these enchiladas are soooo good I cant believe these are corn tortillas!" They weren't. Three days in the hospital, months of pain afterwards. Something being delicious makes me highly suspicious now.


  • 0

#86

 
Crabby J

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
 

Posted 10 January 2015 - 06:47 PM

After reading the posts on this blog I see that many people are very frustrated by others lack of information, or their attitudes. I think I am gluten sensitive and have joined here to study up and share anything I might know or to ask questions if I don't know. I have a latex allergy and find people who are very inconsiderate all the time. I also have a bad sensitivity to MSG. I get the "Bang my head against the wall" comments all the time. Go out and buy a bottle or box of "Accent" it is in the spice aisle and it is MSG. Taste it. Then tell me if you want that in your food. It is an additive...oh that means that is something extra they can charge you for when they make the food.

Here is a quote from Wikipedia (used as a short cut) "MSG has been produced by three methods: hydrolysis of vegetable proteins with hydrochloric acid to disrupt peptide bonds (1909–1962); direct chemical synthesis with acrylonitrile (1962–1973), and bacterial fermentation (the current method).[Manuf. 9] Wheat gluten was originally used for hydrolysis because it contains more than 30g of glutamate and glutamine in 100g of protein. As demand for MSG increased, chemical synthesis and fermentation were studied.[citation needed] The polyacrylic fiber industry began in Japan during the mid-1950s, and acrylonitrile was adopted as a base material to synthesize MSG.[Manuf. 14]"      So if you study this quote, I think you should be concerned about MSG if you are Celiac or gluten sensitive. Do you agree?


  • 0

#87

 
LauraTX

    Advanced Community Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,429 posts
 

Posted 10 January 2015 - 07:54 PM

After reading the posts on this blog I see that many people are very frustrated by others lack of information, or their attitudes. I think I am gluten sensitive and have joined here to study up and share anything I might know or to ask questions if I don't know. I have a latex allergy and find people who are very inconsiderate all the time. I also have a bad sensitivity to MSG. I get the "Bang my head against the wall" comments all the time. Go out and buy a bottle or box of "Accent" it is in the spice aisle and it is MSG. Taste it. Then tell me if you want that in your food. It is an additive...oh that means that is something extra they can charge you for when they make the food.

Here is a quote from Wikipedia (used as a short cut) "MSG has been produced by three methods: hydrolysis of vegetable proteins with hydrochloric acid to disrupt peptide bonds (1909–1962); direct chemical synthesis with acrylonitrile (1962–1973), and bacterial fermentation (the current method).[Manuf. 9] Wheat gluten was originally used for hydrolysis because it contains more than 30g of glutamate and glutamine in 100g of protein. As demand for MSG increased, chemical synthesis and fermentation were studied.[citation needed] The polyacrylic fiber industry began in Japan during the mid-1950s, and acrylonitrile was adopted as a base material to synthesize MSG.[Manuf. 14]"      So if you study this quote, I think you should be concerned about MSG if you are Celiac or gluten sensitive. Do you agree?

 

Welcome to the forum, CrabbyJ.  Monosodium Glutamate does not contain gluten, and can be eaten by Celiacs.  A lot of people see the "Glut" part and worry, but if someone has a problem with MSG, it is a separate issues and unrelated to gluten.  Here is a primary source for some info.  Wikipedia can be a shady source of info once you get into scientific stuff.  

http://www.fda.gov/F...s/ucm328728.htm


  • 0
I am my husband's "Silly Yak Girl" :)
I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in January 2013. I also have Lupus and Common Variable Immunodeficiency(CVID) for which I am on IVIG.

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: