Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Help! Nerium Age Defying Cream And Oats - Freaking Out Here!
1 1

12 posts in this topic

I started using Nerium about 6 months ago after the company and the friend I buy it from both assured me that the products are all gluten free. Meanwhile I have definitely been feeling different - at times I think maybe I'm getting glutened somewhere and at others I think no, because I have such a consistent reaction to gluten and this hasn't been a full blown reaction. I started to narrow down my reactions to corn products or to at least be certain that corn exacerbates my pain so today I started going through all my products out of curiosity to see what may have corn lurking in it. 

 

I checked my Nerium labels and the day cream has oats in it!!! How can they claim their product is gluten free if it has oats? I ALWAYS react to oats in lotions, etc. I am waiting on a call back from the company - maybe they use certified gluten free oats? I do not have problems with gluten free oats but I can't use lotions from Bath and Body works or other places that have regular oats or oatmeal in them. I have to be very careful. 

 

I am really freaked out about this. I have not felt well at all since I started this product BUT I started it literally the day my husband and I separated and I"ve been under a ton of stress and have attributed my ill feelings to that. And I'm not having full blown typical gluten reactions. I am mortified that I never checked the label myself - I've never done that before. It's been a long three years of learning how to do this gluten free diet right and the last two years I haven't slipped up other than one time accidentally using a Bath and Body works lotion with oats. I immediately got hives head to toe and jumped back in the shower and scrubbed off with no further reaction. 

 

I am mortified. Does anyone have any experience with Nerium???

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

If you are putting the Nerium cream on your face, it very well could be making its way into your mouth.  If you feel like that is a possible source of CC, try some time off of it.  I have also heard that product does not work, so if you are spending a ton of money on it, I am sure people on here can recommend some good face creams to try out.  Cosmetic companies are some of the worst offenders when it comes to misinformed false gluten-free labeling, in my personal opinion.  It is highly unlikely they are using certified gluten-free oats, but it is good you have contacted them to check.  If you get hives from oats on the skin, it may also just be a separate skin allergy.  (For example, I can eat cocoa butter in chocolate but on my skin it gives me hives)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I stopped my membership a long time ago - I did see results at first but they waned quickly and the packages kept piling up long before I could use them. I planned to use out the rest of the product and then probably stop altogether. I am in absolute shock over this. It is really important to me that I know - I do react to ANY product with gluten in it whether its a lotion or makeup or hair product. I have gotten glutened from hairspray, mascara and lotion before, that's why I've always been vigilant. I can't believe I took their work that it was gluten free and didn't inspect the label, that is SO out of character for me. I just feel that I can't  rightly get too angry until I know for sure they aren't using gluten free oats. I received a call back and unfortunately in their company there is only ONE person that has knowledge or handles "this type of situation" and she has left for the day. So I have to wait 24-48 hours for any kind of answer. Obvioulsy I won't use the product in the meantime but I feel like I"m going crazy with curiosity and worry. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I feel your pain.  It is always the ONE time you don't thoroughly look that it gets ya, I think it increases my paranoia each time.  I also have a lot of skin allergies so anything that goes in or on my body I have to be totally anal retentive about.  Let us know what the word is when they get back to you!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I feel your pain.  It is always the ONE time you don't thoroughly look that it gets ya, I think it increases my paranoia each time.  I also have a lot of skin allergies so anything that goes in or on my body I have to be totally anal retentive about.  Let us know what the word is when they get back to you!

I will for sure although I already know in my heart the answer. From what I'm reading about the company online today they are awful and use toxic ingredients. I will never use it again but I at least want them to refund the hundreds of dollars I've spent on their supposedly gluten free products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Oats don't contain gluten. Oats are often manufactured on shared equipment but the oat itself doesn't contain gluten. So the company was right in telling you their product is gluten free. You might have a reaction to oats but it isn't from any gluten "in" oats since there is no gluten in oats.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oats don't contain gluten. Oats are often manufactured on shared equipment but the oat itself doesn't contain gluten. So the company was right in telling you their product is gluten free. You might have a reaction to oats but it isn't from any gluten "in" oats since there is no gluten in oats.

Oats have a different protein that is very similiar to wheat, rye and barley. Not all celiacs react to this protein the same as they do to gluten but some do have a 'gluten' reaction. They are also commonly heavily contaminated. That is why it is advised that we only consume certified gluten free oats.  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The product also contains Barley - obviously Nerium is NOT gluten free. This is the day cream I'm talking about, not the night cream. 

 

I was finally able to get ahold of the one person at t he company that is educated on ingredients to speak with her. She claims that they have tested the product and that it's gluten free. She could not tell me who tested it, when they tested it, whether they test each batch or only one time and when I asked how many ppm it tested to she said she had no idea what I was talking about. I explained to her and she says she is going to find out and call me back. Although I'm not sure who she will find out from since SHE Is touted as the company's expert on ingredients. 

 

I don't need any more info, the simple fact is that the product is labeled gluten free despite having oats and barley and I got very sick from it. They have not heard the end of this from me.  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oats don't contain gluten. Oats are often manufactured on shared equipment but the oat itself doesn't contain gluten. So the company was right in telling you their product is gluten free. You might have a reaction to oats but it isn't from any gluten "in" oats since there is no gluten in oats.

While not EVERYONE reacts to oats a lot of us do and most doctors and reputable celiac websites will tell you to stay away from them unless they are 100% gluten free grown and processed. Because of this I say it is absolute BS for a product to be labeled gluten free when it contains something known to make many celiacs react. I've heard of celiacs that don't react to a certain wheat product but do to others - that doesn't mean its safe and that doesn't mean something with wheat should be labeled gluten free! Besides that fact, it also contains barley so the point is almost moot anyway. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Besides that fact, it also contains barley so the point is almost moot anyway. 

you are saying the nerium contains barley or oats?  i'm a little confused...  and oats don't contain barley :)  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks like she is saying it contains barley and oats.  Nerium really is a giant scam, doesn't surprise me at all they are mislabeling things.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gluten free does not include "oat free" though.  Yes, you may react to oats, but a product can still have oats and be gluten free.  I have never heard of this company and have no idea what is or isn't in the product but it could still be gluten free with oats in the product list.  That would be the same thing as something having dairy and saying it's not "gluten free" because you react to dairy and it shouldn't be in there.  Yes, I understand the issue with oats but technically, oats are gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
1 1

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.