We purchased rice at Costco (several pounds of it actually) and my daughter reacted to it. Zafarani is the brand name. I went to the company's website and they have a general blurb about how rice is a naturally gluten free food but nothing specifically stating it is gluten free. I called the company and sure enough, it is processed in a facility with wheat. I emailed them later to suggest they put on their packaging "processed in a facility that processes wheat" but haven't heard back.
We had been eating another brand with no troubles but it was not marked gluten free either. I also got it at Costco which is an hour away, so in the mean time I was just going to get some smaller packages locally. None of the packages were marked gluten free, so I called Kroger and the lady there said that the package has to say "may contain wheat" if processed in the same facility. But then she changed it a bit and said if processed on the same line. She said their rice is "a gluten free food" but she couldn't guarantee it was not processed on the same line as wheat. I left the conversation not knowing.
Can anyone tell me what the rule is supposed to be? Are there any companies that produce rice where I can buy in bulk? It's our cheap "filler" food here. Thanks!