3 replies to this topic

#1 WGibs

WGibs

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 126 posts

Posted 07 November 2005 - 06:20 PM

I'm a newbie. I mentioned to my general doctor about two weeks ago that I had been having loose stools for several months and she added some extra tests to my routine blood work. I don't know exactly what they were, since I haven't received a copy yet, but you all with more experience probably know. A week later she called and left me a message that I had gluten antibodies in my blood, I have celiac disease, she was referring me to a nutritionist.

I was pretty shocked (I thought I would end up just having some wicked intestinal bug.) So I called her back and asked if she was absolutely sure. She said she would refer my case to the GI doctors and would let me know if they wanted to do anything more. In the meantime, I stopped eating gluten. It's been four days and I honestly can't say that it's been any sudden cure. Today my doc calls and says the GI docs think the first test was conclusive, but they want to see me to go over everything and will also run some more blood tests.

So, I'm supposed to start eating gluten again and get these blood tests later this week. Did I do the right thing? I was really surprised that she would make a firm diagnosis on something so serious when it seems like there's a lot of uncertainty with this disease. Does it seem that my doctor screwed up, or am I just being difficult? Can I have gluten antibodies but not have celiac?

Thank you for any advice or information!

High IGG, normal IGA and TTG.
Very positive dietary response.
Gluten-free since 12/26/05.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Rikki Tikki

Rikki Tikki

Tavi

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 871 posts

Posted 07 November 2005 - 07:44 PM

This is just my two cents worth. They couldn't pay me enough to eat gluten for a couple of weeks so they could run another blood test.