This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Threshold

Alfred

Alfred Newbie

Greetings, Folks.

I don't have Celiac disease but I have a question about the amount of gluten it takes to elicit a reaction. And is it an immediate response or does it take a while to come on. I'm looking to be educated on this matter. Let me tell you why I am asking. I am an organic farmer in the making. I'm getting the ground on my farm prepared for planting oats next year. I love oats and I am developing a line of products based on oat flour. And I understand that people with Celiac disease are not adversely effected by consuming oats.

I've spent the last 6 months or so developing a recipe for oat hotcakes. I have 7 varieties now. And they are all delicious. I've been buying my oats from a local organic farmer. I want to sell my product as gluten free but I can't. I can't because the farmer that I buy the oats from also processes wheat on the same equipment as the oats. However if I test my oat flour for gluten and it measures less than 20ppm, then I can label my product as gluten free.

Now getting to the crux of the matter. How sensitive are people with Celiac to very small amounts of Gluten? Does anyone have any idea quantitatively? Or how about qualitatively speaking? So for example if one grain of wheat was consumed by a person with Celiac disease, how would that person be effected, if at all?