This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Low Energy And Feeling Depressed

hannahs

hannahs Newbie

I've been diagnosed celiac for a year after 24 years of eating a very glutenous diet. I've found that although I'm much better i just get so down that my body just doesn't recover and cope as well as my friends. I feel like i am constantly battling with my body to keep going. I am a primary school teacher so work is full on and stressful. Does anyone else deal with this heavy feeling that i will never have the energy that my friends do? How do you deal? I'm needing some support at the moment.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ravenwoodglass Mentor

Welcome to the board. Sorry you are having a hard time. Have you had your vitamin and mineral levels checked? If not it might be helpful to do so. It can take a long time to heal fully and absorb nutrients that our body needs. Some of us have to supplement stuff like the B's and iron long term. If your B12 levels are low it will be helpful to use a sublingual B12 tablet as your body will have a hard time absorbing enough with damaged intestines.

Eat as clean as you can and if you haven't already be sure to read the Newbie 101 thread at the top of this page to make sure you don't have gluten sneaking in somewhere. It may not be the case with you but for me even a small amount of CC will make me depressed and tired. I hope you are feeling better soon.

cristiana Veteran