This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Gluten-Free For How Long?

LeahRuth

LeahRuth Newbie

Hello Everybody! This is my first time visiting the site. I found all of the responses to threads I read to be very helpful so I joined! I have one question for as many of you who would like to answer-for starters. How long should I avoid gluten to see if I have an intolerance? Will I feel better in 2 weeks? A month? How do I go about "self-diagnosing" at this preliminary point? Tell me what you would do/what you did. 

Here's some background:

I'm in my early twenties and don't have kids or any health conditions. I've never had anything ongoing except mild asthma as a kid and can be easily susceptible to sinus infections. I starting getting carsick when I was about 10 though and it's gotten a bit worse the past few years, (I think because I traveled and rode a lot of foreign transportation.). 

In the middle of January I ate some spinach enchiladas at a Mexican restaurant for a wedding rehearsal dinner. The next day I was woken by intense abdominal pain and a fever until I was able to "empty myself out." I was nauseas the rest of the day and avoided eating. Pain meds, mints and Pepto-Bismal didn't have any effect.