This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Anyone Suffer From Neurological Symptoms?

Maddi

Maddi Community Regular

While on gluten the symptoms that bothered me the most were neurological (my GI symptoms aren't super bad... just frequency but not the big D... and well the weight loss is very disturbing)... now I was glutened a few daus ago and I'm finally feeling better today (not 100% but at least I'm functioning... I'm painting the pantry!! Superrrrr happy bc before going gluten free I barely had energy to shower!! Even though I'm new to this diet and well my energy levels are still fluctuating throughout the day...at least I have some energy). Anyways does anyone here have more neurological symptoms than GI ones? I guess since I'm undiagnosed I'm trying to see if there's any way I could get diagnosed I have read about people being negative for a whileeeee before they test positive. Now I'm wondering about gluten ataxia. I've read about it and I know it causes reallyyyyyy bad symptoms mine are not so severe. Could ataxia cause milder symptoms like... tingling/burning/numbness in the extremedies, headaches, very bad dizziness even while laying down, and ankle pain? I have really bad ankle pain when I get glutened. I'm also feel very confused and words jump around when I'm reading and I honestly think I'm reading something but it doesn't make sense so I have to read it again for it to make sense (sometimes even read it 3 times!) And I am very clumsy. I hit walls...doors... tables..it's as if I can't calculate how close I actually am to these things. Also...how do you test for ataxia? Is the only option an MRI?