This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Fibromyalgia and Sleep problems caused by Gluten Intolerance

Mitch694

Mitch694 Newbie

Hi, I recently was diagnosed as being gluten intolerant. I didn't go through with the biopsy to confirm as having Celiac Disease and the ttg-IgA test came up negative as well. Due to having classic neurological and digestive issues associated to gluten and being suggested by a doctor, I decided to go off gluten and began to see a massive difference. One of my major issues were terrible fatigue, an oversleeping problem were my cycle would 'magically' shift to morning hours disrupting daily activities. Apart from these, I have constant nausea, joint pain, nerve pain tending mostly to the right side of my body, severe memory and thinking problems ( brain fog - this has not improved yet being on a gluten free diet for about 2 months now) , anxiety attacks and chronic mild migraine headache. Exactly 2 weeks ago, I glutened myself accidently and within 2 days all my health concerns came back full swing.   I want to know whether it takes this long for the symptoms to reside and whether there is any treatment available for the sleep condition as it severely affects my daily life and my career. 

My sister who is 14 ( I am 22 ) has similar issues and her doctor just diagnosed her with fibromyalgia. Could I be having fibromyalgia too induced by gluten..or could this be Non-celiac gluten sensitivity?  Is there a solidified connection between the two? 

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

ccrew99 Apprentice