Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Jelly Beans


  • Please log in to reply

7 replies to this topic

#1 ryebaby0

 
ryebaby0

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
 

Posted 07 April 2004 - 02:47 PM

I thought I read here that JustBorn jelly beans are gluten-free, but I can't find that information now. Can anyone verify that they are, indeed, gluten-free?
Thanks
  • 0
Mom/wife to celiacs dx 12/03 and 12/04


Success is never final and failure never fatal. It's courage that counts -George Tilton

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 gbeauvais

 
gbeauvais

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
 

Posted 07 April 2004 - 03:37 PM

By your question, does that mean that most jelly beans are not gluten free? I love the Just Born Peeps, and I've been reading labels like crazy. What would be the ingredient in jelly beans that would have gluten? Thanks!

Gerri
  • 0

#3 plantime

 
plantime

    My two handsome grandsons

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,692 posts
 

Posted 08 April 2004 - 05:13 AM

I buy Jolly Rancher jelly beans. They use cornstarch instead of wheat starch or modified food starch. They also have a rich flavor, which my family loves! The bag does say they are made on equipment that also processes peanuts/nuts/milk/eggs, so you have cross-contamination issues for those items. <_<
  • 0
Dessa

The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make His face shine upon you and be gracious to you." Numbers 6:24-25

#4 ryebaby0

 
ryebaby0

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
 

Posted 08 April 2004 - 05:21 AM

Most all of them have 'artifical flavors" so I don't know the source of the flavoring. I was always told artificial meant you need to check...
  • 0
Mom/wife to celiacs dx 12/03 and 12/04


Success is never final and failure never fatal. It's courage that counts -George Tilton

#5 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 08 April 2004 - 07:21 AM

I'm not sure where it is, but I have read that the majority of Jelly Bellys are gluten free, but a few flavors are not.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#6 Shamilton

 
Shamilton

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
 

Posted 09 April 2004 - 03:57 AM

Planet Harmony tells me their jelly Beans are gluten-free (although cross contamination is possible--though they said they cleaned the machines very well). They also do not have artificial flavors or colors.
  • 0

#7 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 10 April 2004 - 06:09 PM

This is from the jellybelly.com question and answer page. I included the dairy free ones to for those of us off dairy. I hope this helps.

Question:

Are your Jelly Belly jelly beans gluten-free?

Answer:

We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch used in the manufacture of our jelly bean candies is cornstarch. However, trace amounts of wheat derivatives may be present in the Buttered Toast flavor. (Dec. 2002)

Question:

Are your Jelly Belly jelly beans dairy-free?

Answer:

We do not use any animal products in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. However trace amounts of dairy derivatives may be present in these flavors: Café Latte, Buttered Toast, Caramel Corn, Buttered Popcorn, Chocolate Cherry Cake, Chocolate Pudding and Strawberry Cheesecake. (Dec. 2002)


God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#8 Ruth

 
Ruth

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
 

Posted 10 April 2004 - 06:24 PM

Hi Ryebaby,
Just in case you are filling baskets right now... I do have a list (a few months old) from the old celiac.com site that does list Just Born Jelly Beans as gluten free.
If you need to confirm their # is 800-445-5787
I hope this helps!
Happy Easter,
Ruth
  • 0
Ruth
Diagnosed 3/03 (Positive Biopsy/Negative Blood Tests)
Daughter dx 12/03 (Positive biopsy/Positive blood tests);
Two sons (Negative blood tests); One on gluten-free diet (6/04) ... cured his persistent, severe headaches.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: