This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Starting out

Treowe

Treowe Newbie

Hi, as a Noob, I am a little intimidated by what may come to be a major change in my eating habits. My middle has been uncomfortable for a couple of years and I got no help or input from my GP so I went to a GI Dr who checked me throughly and found nothing out of sorts other than some minor irritation in my esophogus and prescribed a medication. My stomach/mid section still is uncomfortable and really disturbingly big. The GP finally suggested that I try being gluten free for 6 weeks to see if it made a difference. I have no other symptoms of gluten intolerance, as far I know. I've had anxiety issues longer than the stomach discomfort but I am having depression and lethargy so I guess I will try to rule this out.

My question is, how strict does this have to be in order to ascertain that there is a correlation between my discomfort and possible gluten allergy? How stringent is the cross contamination issue, like using a toaster oven and other daily food prep precautions. Right now, eating like this for 6 weeks feels like 6 years. But if I start to feel better in a few weeks, I guess I'll make the transistion permanently, and I'd really like my gut to be normal looking, or at least not 7 months pregnant. 

Female, nearly 70, 5'8", overweight at 170 lbs. 

Thanks.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cyclinglady Grand Master