This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Is this celiac disease? (sorry, long post!)

Airhi

Airhi Newbie

Hi

This will probably be a long post, but I will try to keep things concise! I should preface this by saying I can be somewhat hypochondriac and the anxiety makes me sometimes skeptical of my own instincts

Have had increasing GI symptoms for the last two years.  I have two family members with IBS symptoms and I know stress can flare it up so thought maybe I was developing IBS. I had a few months of being very broke (I'm a postgrad student) and eating a lot of $2 pastries and pork buns, cheap bread etc. and during that time my symptoms got a LOT worse. My symptoms were bloating, gas, D, and a feeling of my abdomen being very tender. This was worse after eating a big meal or drinking a cold glass of water, and would start ok but get worse as the day went on. I was unable to wear many of my clothes and mostly wore loose dresses. I cut out wheat(but not gluten), dairy and eggs as these are known to be common triggers for food intolerances, I also avoided foods like beans, garlic and cabbage that I know can cause gas. I was resistant to the problem being gluten as I know it can be a fad, lactose intolerance or IBS seemed more likely. I felt a bit better after cutting these three things out but not 100%, and still had a tender tummy a lot of the time. Eggs turns out is no issue although dairy was, I do not consume any dairy anymore. I then reintroduced wheat by eating one toasted slice of brown bread at breakfast for one week. After three days I felt MUCH worse, my abdomen felt very tender and hurt if I walked too quickly.  S