This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Introduction And Question

pedsarnp

pedsarnp Newbie

Hello to everyone. I was diagnosed with celiac disease about 3 months ago. My bloodwork was negative but biopsy positive. Now on a gluten-free diet I am free of the horrible abdominal pain and other symptoms I was experiencing.

I am a mother of five kids. I work in healthcare as a pediatric nurse practitioner. I lost a baby in a second trimester miscarriage about 8 months ago. After that miscarriage I started having symptoms which ultimately led to my diagnosis. I don't know if the celiac disease caused the miscarriage or if perhaps the pregnancy and miscarriage triggered the celiac disease. Never will know for sure.

I am somewhat used to a restricted diet as my son has anaphylaxis to dairy and nuts. We have also been vegetarian for 20 + years. Now with the celiac disease our grocery shopping just gets harder and harder. LOL

As a mom of 5 young kids in a busy household I am struggling with how to keep my kitchen and food prep space safe for me. What have others done to prevent cross contamination? Any good tips for food storage and handling would really be appreciated.

Also, any vegetarian celiacs out there? When I was busy I loved just grabbing a veggie burger and popping it in the microwave. I cannot find a gluten free brand of veggie burgers. Any ideas or recipes that freeze well?

TIA. I'm looking forward to hanging around and learning from all you gluten-free experts!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

RiceGuy Collaborator