11 replies to this topic

#1 Becky G.

Becky G.

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 April 2004 - 05:37 PM

For those of you who had GI symptoms, how long did it take for them to abate when you went gluten-free? My GI symptoms are bloating, gas, cramping, lots of GURGLING and RUMBLING in my guts :) and occasional diarrhea, but more often just fecal urgency. Most of my symptoms appear shortly after eating. I've also had trouble losing weight, unlike a lot of other gluten-sensitive people. I went gluten-free 2 weeks ago, and thought my GI symptoms would quickly disappear, but they haven't. Just wondering what others' experience was. Also, I am a vegan, and have found the gluten-free diet very depressing, even though I am an experienced cook. Most of my vegan meat alternatives contain wheat gluten, so they are now out of my diet. None of the gluten-free cookbooks I bought have been much help, as they all assume I am a carnivore. :o At this point, between the GI symptoms (usually right after I eat) and the lack of vegan gluten-free foods, I am finding food very depressing and I'm beginning to not want to eat at all.

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Becky

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lauradawn

lauradawn

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 112 posts

Posted 09 April 2004 - 07:49 PM