This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New ---i Didn't Realize My Daughter Was Sick

chrissy

chrissy Collaborator

hi all, i am totally new at this--- i didn't realize my daughter, tianna, was sick-----she has probably been sick for over 2 years. she is painfully thin, covered in rashes, and doesn't smile very often. she is an identical twin, and has always been quiter than her sister. in the last couple of years her sister, kassie, has grown considerably more than her. i had read about dermatitis herpetiformis and realized that her rashes were suspicious. i took her to an allergist and pointed out the location of her rashes---he ran a celiac screen and it came out positive. she had a biopsy done 2 days ago---we expect to hear the final results on monday. my other twin has really bad reflux, just had esophageal thrush confirmed by biopsies(which did not show celiac, but they weren't looking for it either)and she has been sick for over 2 months. tianna's blood test was positive for the endomysial antibodies---i have heard that these are specific for celiac, but i have also heard that a few other autoimmune diseases could cause these. is there ANY chance that my daughter might NOT have celiac? i've pretty much resigned myself to the fact that this is going to be a new road in our lives and i am trying to look at it as an adventure instead of a problem---but i do have to admit that when i went to buy some gluten free cookbooks, i got a little choked-up.

christine

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

fisharefriendsnotfood Apprentice

Hi!