This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Out Of Shape Kids...

Jnkmnky

Jnkmnky Collaborator
:ph34r:

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

lonewolf Collaborator

Amen! I'm a PE teacher and I am all for 2 recesses a day, regular PE, minimal or no junk food in schools and for parents to join with their kids walking, running, bike riding, swimming, etc. It is up to the parents to make sure that their kids are getting exercise and not spending 5 hours a day watching TV or playing video games. And high schoolers need PE daily - not just the kids in sports.

Beginning in (I think) 2007, all public schools that get any kind of federal funding must have a wellness plan in place. That means they have to figure out how to help their students get healthy by making sure they have recess and PE and have healthy lunches. This is a step in the right direction, but I'm afraid a lot of schools will get around it by having a plan, but not implementing it completely. Big junk food companies make a LOT of money from schools with their machines and don't want to be kicked out of those schools. I'm hoping that they will be accomodating by offering bottles of 100% juice, water, packages of dried fruit, trail mix, etc.