Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Wheat Free Spelt


  • Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic

#1 dianna

 
dianna

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 20 April 2004 - 04:56 PM

a well meaning friend gave me some wheat free spelt bread, is it safe? thank you Dianna
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 angel_jd1

 
angel_jd1

    Gluten Free Goddess

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,053 posts
 

Posted 20 April 2004 - 05:02 PM

NO!!! Spelt is another name for wheat...do NOT eat it. I had a health food store sell me a loaf of spelt bread the day of my diagnosis, it is not safe for us to have. Throw it out.


-Jessica :rolleyes:

This is from Celiac.com Info

Which grains are safe, which are not?


The common list of forbidden grains is: wheat, rye, barley and oats.
Unfortunately, there are variants out there that go by other names. Durum and semolina are names for certain kinds of wheat that have been bred for specific uses. Both spelt and kamut are versions of wheat. (Other names for these: spelta, Polish wheat, einkorn and small spelt). Bulgur is wheat that's been specially processed. Triticale, a grain crossbred from wheat and rye, is definitely on the toxic list.
  • 0
Jessica
Gluten Free since 12-31-2002!!
Kansas

#3 smack

 
smack

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 46 posts
 

Posted 21 April 2004 - 11:15 AM

Splet is in the wheat family, it is not atcually wheat but it does contain gluten. That is why we cannot have it but those with wheat allergies are able to eat spelt instead.
  • 0
The beatings will continue until moral improves




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: