65 replies to this topic

#1 danikali

danikali

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 536 posts

Posted 11 January 2006 - 08:09 AM

Okay, I recently, as some of you know, found out that I was getting glutened by roasted nuts that I have been eating for the past week! I had no idea and thought that something was really wrong since "I wasn't eating any gluten!" (I def. was!) I went home after I discovered this possible culprit, and all of the nuts that I had were dry roasted!!! The more I thought about it, the same day my symptoms started coming back were the same day I first bought the nuts and ate them!! Sheesh!

Anyway, this is the trickiest hidden gluten product that I can think of. But just to make sure that there are absolutley NO MORE MISTAKES, (at least for one straight month!!! :angry: ), what are some of the least obvious, most common hidden sources, that you can think of......

I know I am new to this whole thing still, and I may be a little bit naive, but where does the gluten come from, what do they use exactly to dry roast nuts?

Thanks!!! :D
Danielle (Dani)

Diagnosed with Celiac Disease by Dr. Green (gene HLA DQ8) 1/05/06
Diagnosed: Gluten Sensitive through enterolab 11/17/05
Diagnosed: Casein Sensitive through enterolab 3/7/06

Diagnosed: Interstitial Cystitis (IC) 07/26/06

I finally put my picture on because it doesn't look like I'll be eating ANY cake on my Wedding day..........I'm the one in the middle.

Intolerant to: (besides gluten)

Casein
Peanuts (can handle very small amounts)
Any kind of additives or preservatives

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Rachel--24

Rachel--24

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,323 posts

Posted 11 January 2006 - 09:44 AM