Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Roasted Nuts
0

66 posts in this topic

Okay, I recently, as some of you know, found out that I was getting glutened by roasted nuts that I have been eating for the past week! I had no idea and thought that something was really wrong since "I wasn't eating any gluten!" (I def. was!) I went home after I discovered this possible culprit, and all of the nuts that I had were dry roasted!!! The more I thought about it, the same day my symptoms started coming back were the same day I first bought the nuts and ate them!! Sheesh!

Anyway, this is the trickiest hidden gluten product that I can think of. But just to make sure that there are absolutley NO MORE MISTAKES, (at least for one straight month!!! :angry: ), what are some of the least obvious, most common hidden sources, that you can think of......

I know I am new to this whole thing still, and I may be a little bit naive, but where does the gluten come from, what do they use exactly to dry roast nuts?

Thanks!!! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I think Rice Dream is "tricky". Yes, it does say its got gluten right on the carton but still...its not somewhere you'd normally look. I think unless they've done their research beforehand alot of people have probably been glutened by Rice Dream at some point. I was.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

rice dream

twizzlers

re-shaped holiday candies... egg shaped peanut butter cups, etc

HAM

That ONE BRAND of Hot dogs... which one is it?? I forget.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good ones! My Step-mom was trying out the diet actually (due to her having Rheumatoid Artheritis) and she just bought Rice Milk and I said, uh oh. Sorry but there's gluten in there, and I showed her the teeny tiny label.

Also, the licking envelopes is good too!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




That ONE BRAND of Hot dogs... which one is it?? I forget.

Nathan's :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sugar free metamucil

prescription medications

gluten-free candy that you eat all the time, like Snickers, but the snack size is not gluten-free.

Foods that are in the gluten-free area, but are not gluten-free, just wheat free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

interesting... all the dry roasted nuts I have had have been gluten-free. have you checked with the company on the issue?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah what brand was it? I eat dry roasted nuts all the time. Put em in stir fry's too. Yum.

Elonwy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

IN a forum that I posted two days ago, someone told me that ALL dry roasted nuts are contaminated. They did make the point though that not all ROASTED nuts have gluten, but all DRY roasted nuts. What do you think?

No ... not all roasted nuts have gluten, just if it says DRY roasted. Also smoked almonds have gluten.

I don't have a problem with dairy, but lots do. If you can drink milk with no problems, then by all means go for it :P

Hmmmmmm........ :huh:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Nathan's :)

gluten-free candy that you eat all the time, like Snickers, but the snack size is not gluten-free

I thought that Snickers was considered to be the "universal" gluten-free candy? I thought Ann Lee said that at the conference in September (at Columbia). I haven't had the bite/snack size Snickers up to this point, but if I were handed one, I would've eaten it without a second thought. Yikes! Also, with the dry roasted nuts... I'm looking at a package of Walmart (Great Value) brand dry-roasted peanuts. The ingredients are: peanuts, salt, sugar, cornstarch, maltodextrin, MSG, dried yeast, dried corn syrup, spices, natural flavor, garlic, onion powder.

And then it says Manufactured in a facility that processes products containing milk solids and tree nuts. I just got off the phone with Wal-Mart (1-800-WALMART); they said this is not a gluten-free product, but only because of cross-contamination issues. It's interesting that it doesn't mention that it's produced in a facility with wheat products, if they're worried about CC. Would you suggest I not buy GV brand again? I don't have any problems from them, but then again, I don't get noticeably ill from gluten. Is there a brand that doesn't have cross-contamination issues with their products?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Isn't that crazy that they have to put all of that stuff on nuts? All we need is salt!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
IN a forum that I posted two days ago, someone told me that ALL dry roasted nuts are contaminated. They did make the point though that not all ROASTED nuts have gluten, but all DRY roasted nuts. What do you think?

Hmmmmmm........ :huh:

I've had reactions to nuts as well - bad DH and a rash. But not all the time. So much that I went to allergist to get tested for a nut allergy. Which I don't have. It was at a time I was doing the South Beach diet and eating a ton of them. I assumed it was just from eating too many. But you make an interesting point.

I have emailed Planters so lets see it we get a response. If you can't wait for the answer this is posted on their website:

How do I obtain allergen information for your products?

Our Consumer Affairs Representative through 1-800-323-0768 will happy to help you with any questions you have concerning allergens and our products.

Still have a question ... contact us[/size]

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would think the issue with nuts would be a cross-contamination issue. I dont think ALL dry roasted nuts are contaminated...it would depend on the amnufacturing facility. Unless...of course you're eating some nuts that have other stuff in them like wheat....but that would be indicated in the ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

twizzlers, honey glazed ham and an apple cider that used a certain spice that they only informed me of after i was sick and finally called the company....also, certain brands of swedish fish have wheat in them....the orignial brand doesn't luckily.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Nathan's :)

Yes, Nathan's.... I hate Nathan's. What the &%&^* do they need wheat in Hot Dogs for??? Killed my laid back attitude towards bbqs in the summer. We had a Bon fire a few weeks ago, and my friend brought those freaking Nathan's. I was like, "WHOA!"... Keep 'em offa the grill till my kid gets a Boar's Head hot dog done up. Just really burns me up. <_<

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

westsoy soymilk

candies (like see's)

chicken broth

frozen foods, like veggie burgers (most brands)

dry roasted nuts (they give them out on an airplane!)

candy corn (some brands)

certain cheeses, meats (like deli)

basically any food that it seems like wouldnt need gluten for any purposes... I mean if it can taste just as good w/o the gluten, why put it in?!

I'm confused about the snickers thing though- i thought the fun size were gluten-free in US?? Am i wrong? And what about the minis? great topic by the way- interesting and so useful!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, this is from the brand new Canadian Celiac Ass. Pocket Dictionary.

Nuts (Dry Roasted or Seasoned)

May be prepared with seasoning mixture containing wheat flour or wheat starch, which is not gluten-free. Contact the manufacturer.

Nuts (Corn or Soy) Seasoned

May be prepared with seasoning mixture contianing wheat flour or wheat starch, which is not gluten-free. Contact the manufacturer.

So ... sorry I told you that Dry Roasted nuts were not gluten free. My old dictuonary said they were NOT allowed. Guess some manufacturers are now making some that are gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Egg shaped peanut butter cups have gluten?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
IN a forum that I posted two days ago, someone told me that ALL dry roasted nuts are contaminated. They did make the point though that not all ROASTED nuts have gluten, but all DRY roasted nuts. What do you think?

Hmmmmmm........ :huh:

I saw that post, but my experience does not bear it out. Yes, I have seen that the airplane nuts I've been given on southwest (both their own brand and planter's) have had wheat, but I've also seen a number I have purchased in the store not have wheat. the only ingredients in the dry roasted nuts I usually get are nuts/salt/oil. (these have been nuts from Trader Joe's or Diamond's most of the time, as almonds are my favorite nut - though I prefer them raw over roasted.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have heard the dry roasted peanuts are questionable but I eat the planters dry roasted, do those also contain gluten the honey roasted I know contain corn starch and I also eat those does anyone know if the planters are ok I dont wanna continue to eat them if they are not!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm sorry, :( I should clarify....I didn't mean to say that Snickers snack size is not gluten-free, I said Snickers because it was a candy that I eat all the time. I just meant some candies snack sizes are not gluten-free. I can't even remember which one now. It was Chritmas time a year ago. We got a bag of something snack size and saw in the ingredients that it was not gluten-free. I remember calling the company to make sure and they said we were right. Was it some Christmas Rese's cup or maybe butterfinger? Sorry I can't remember. I just tend to stay away from snack sizes and eat the regular size.

Sorry for the confusion. :)

Wendy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Planters are owned by Kraft and as such will list any Wheat Barley Rye or Oats on the label, so sofar so good on those nuts.

Elonwy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm sorry, :( I should clarify....I didn't mean to say that Snickers snack size is not gluten-free, I said Snickers because it was a candy that I eat all the time. I just meant some candies snack sizes are not gluten-free. I can't even remember which one now. It was Chritmas time a year ago. We got a bag of something snack size and saw in the ingredients that it was not gluten-free. I remember calling the company to make sure and they said we were right. Was it some Christmas Rese's cup or maybe butterfinger? Sorry I can't remember. I just tend to stay away from snack sizes and eat the regular size.

Sorry for the confusion. :)

Wendy

Thanks Wendy, no worries, just wanted to be sure!!!! one of my professors always keeps a dish of candy in her office and im in there several times a day- she sets the snickers aside for me b/c she knows i like them and can eat them- but i got scared there for a second!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Okay, I recently, as some of you know, found out that I was getting glutened by roasted nuts that I have been eating for the past week! I had no idea and thought that something was really wrong since "I wasn't eating any gluten!" (I def. was!) I went home after I discovered this possible culprit, and all of the nuts that I had were dry roasted!!! The more I thought about it, the same day my symptoms started coming back were the same day I first bought the nuts and ate them!! Sheesh!

Anyway, this is the trickiest hidden gluten product that I can think of. But just to make sure that there are absolutley NO MORE MISTAKES, (at least for one straight month!!! :angry: ), what are some of the least obvious, most common hidden sources, that you can think of......

I know I am new to this whole thing still, and I may be a little bit naive, but where does the gluten come from, what do they use exactly to dry roast nuts?

Thanks!!! :D

I think this one is the strangest I've seen in a while-

If you order an Omelette at IHOP, you will get glutened even if you have it specially prepared in a clean separate pan.

They add pancake batter to their omelettes - they say it makes them fluffier

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,125
    • Total Posts
      919,504
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I havent used it, not much of a baker tbh, but this one looks good: http://alittleinsanity.com/gluten-free-pie-crust-recipe/
    • As you say, there's no test, it's diagnosed by exclusion, so there's no metrics to check to assess compliance other than anecdotal response to symptoms. Conversely, I've not seen anything that says that NCGI can resolved or be cured either.  This paper gives a good summation.  Basically, there's not much research period! That is changing though, I think there's research underway which could help give answers.
    • First, do you have celiac disease?  Have you recently had a celiac antibodies follow-up blood test panel to see if gluten has been actually getting into your diet by accident or through cross contamination?  If you haven't had the test, you should ask your doctor for one.  You could also also ask for a follow-up endoscopy to see if you intestines have truly healed.  This will rule out if gluten is really the problem.    If you don't have celiac, I assume you have Non-celiac gluten Intolerance because no one would stick to the gluten-free diet for six years unless you have had reductions in symptoms.  There is no test for NCGI unfortunately.  So, it is hard to say if gluten has been sneaking into your diet.  You really are going to have to try to figure out if you are getting gluten into your diet.  If gluten is not the problem, then your doctor needs to check you for other issues, like SIBO. There is a test to check for SIBO.  Has this been done?   Once a celiac, always a celiac.  There is no cure for celiac disease except to remain on a gluten free diet for life.  I am not sure about NCGI.  Not much research has been done.  Maybe others can chime in?    
    • I am so confused right now.... 6 years ago I went on gluten free diet... after being on it for the first yr I was 100%better up until 5 months ago in got the "flu" the doctors told me to cut out dairy sonic did and my diarrhea  became better but not completely gone would not have it every day tho. I went to the gi doctor and they said to cut out fructose and dairy and keep gluten out... yesterday I went to the dietitian to see what I can eat and she gave me the list for fructose... she said it should have been on a antibiotic for sibo.... eventually I will be able to add dairy back and maybe gluten.... I said how can I add gluten back when this was my first problem... she goes well through fructose goes hand in hand with it... I said with gluten I vomit and am sick for weeks.... fructose isn't that bad I vomit sometimes but I'm not sick for weeks.... I'm just confused on really what is going on and was wondering if you or someone you know had sibo from gluten and or fructose and how Is this all related?
    • I see no one has responded to your query.  Unfortunately I have yet to try making a pie crust.  It was something I never mastered before going gluten free.  Have you looked on Pinterest?  You might find something there.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,163
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Haley Wallbrown
    Joined