Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Roasted Nuts

66 posts in this topic

Okay, I recently, as some of you know, found out that I was getting glutened by roasted nuts that I have been eating for the past week! I had no idea and thought that something was really wrong since "I wasn't eating any gluten!" (I def. was!) I went home after I discovered this possible culprit, and all of the nuts that I had were dry roasted!!! The more I thought about it, the same day my symptoms started coming back were the same day I first bought the nuts and ate them!! Sheesh!

Anyway, this is the trickiest hidden gluten product that I can think of. But just to make sure that there are absolutley NO MORE MISTAKES, (at least for one straight month!!! :angry: ), what are some of the least obvious, most common hidden sources, that you can think of......

I know I am new to this whole thing still, and I may be a little bit naive, but where does the gluten come from, what do they use exactly to dry roast nuts?

Thanks!!! :D

Ads by Google:

I think Rice Dream is "tricky". Yes, it does say its got gluten right on the carton but still...its not somewhere you'd normally look. I think unless they've done their research beforehand alot of people have probably been glutened by Rice Dream at some point. I was.

rice dream

twizzlers

re-shaped holiday candies... egg shaped peanut butter cups, etc

HAM

That ONE BRAND of Hot dogs... which one is it?? I forget.

Good ones! My Step-mom was trying out the diet actually (due to her having Rheumatoid Artheritis) and she just bought Rice Milk and I said, uh oh. Sorry but there's gluten in there, and I showed her the teeny tiny label.

Also, the licking envelopes is good too!

That ONE BRAND of Hot dogs... which one is it?? I forget.

Nathan's :)

sugar free metamucil

prescription medications