Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Roasted Nuts
0

66 posts in this topic

I'm kind of new. I've been reading a great deal on this site.

I'm seeing that many have posted about Rice Dream not being gluten free.

My carton of organic Rice Dream rice milk and the web site both say that it IS gluten free.

I believe they've concluded that gluten free would be good for business.

Just thought I'd share.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
I'm kind of new. I've been reading a great deal on this site.

I'm seeing that many have posted about Rice Dream not being gluten free.

My carton of organic Rice Dream rice milk and the web site both say that it IS gluten free.

I believe they've concluded that gluten free would be good for business.

Just thought I'd share.

Welcome to the boards.

Rice Dream uses a barley enzyme in their product. Because barley is not considered an allergan by the powers that be and the barley is in a small amount they can legally call this not gluten free item gluten free. Pacific makes a good rice milk and if you live in an area with a Wegmans they have recently come out with a truely gluten free rice milk also.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

B Complex vitamins WEGMANS Brand got me the other day. I returned them, of course, but it was close.

The ones I have to stay on my toes about: "Mixed greens" in vitamins that end up including barley grass. How could they possibly avoid getting any seed or other gluten containing material in the vitamins when massed produced? I would not touch anything made with barley or wheat grass with a ten foot pole! Seriously why go where you don't need to and risk getting glutened!?!

This reminds me to finish that thought..B COMPLEX VITAMIN SUPPLEMENTS AT WEGMANS says gluten-free, and technically they are allowed to sell it as such, but it does contain barley grass, use caution with all vitamins, even of they say gluten free!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I suppose this is a situation where I can say luckily I cannot handle grains. I live in an area where we have a walmart, martins and...... :huh:

hah

I will however look into finding a site that I can order one of your suggested rice milks. Orrrrr I'll try that recipe I found to make my own.

I appreciate the information!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I think Rice Dream is "tricky". Yes, it does say its got gluten right on the carton but still...its not somewhere you'd normally look. I think unless they've done their research beforehand a lot of people have probably been glutened by Rice Dream at some point. I was.

Huh? I'm confused now. I'm just been diagnosed & so have been reading lots of posts to learn more. Never heard of 'Rice Dream' before so googled it to see what it was. Their site goes on about how healthy & safe their products are & it also gives a list of what products are gluten free on this page:

http://www.tastethedream.com/health/glutenfree.php

Has something changed? Did they include gluten before but don't now? Or what? Not that I'm going out to buy it - I prefer to make my own foods but if Rice Dream contains gluten & they say it doesn't on their website, isn't that false advertising?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Oops, :huh: I posted my questions about Rice Dream after I read posts on the 1st page. But since I've read to the end, I understand now why they labelled it gluten-free. So how do we really know if something really is safe or not? Does it mean malt-containing products (if no gluten or wheat in them) can be labelled gluten-free then?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
twizzlers, honey glazed ham and an apple cider that used a certain spice that they only informed me of after i was sick and finally called the company....also, certain brands of swedish fish have wheat in them....the orignial brand doesn't luckily.

The ham! Cripes now I know why I might have been a little off last week.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the one that gets me is the regular flavor of Doritos. All the other flavors are gluten free - but not the original nacho flavor. even "spicy nacho" is gluten-free. Doritos are my one pregnancy craving, so if my husband goes out to get some for me, i have to make sure to tell him several times "NOT the original nacho flavor." Also, i saw that Pringles have wheat in them?? or am i mistaken? i thought i read that the other day. thought that was weird.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Absolutely no reason I can think of why Soy Sauce should have wheat as the second ingredient (its not a big deal, I buy the wheat free stuff)...

Grrrrrrrrrrr......

I read that they use it to help it pour more freely. There's a type of soy sauce called tamari which should not have any wheat, although I've seen some that have barley.

The one that got me was Haribo gummibears and other candies. I wrote to the company and they said that all their products contain glucose syrup made from wheat and corn.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey Parla,

Just wanted to say hello and welcome to the forum.
:)

,

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Tricky Gluten-y foods:

Imitation crab (it's in the stuff that binds it together) Must trust that restaurants use real when asking

Some Chicken (injected with chicken broth for flavor)

Beans (in Mexico and some Mexican restaurants, they use flour to thicken the beans)

cornbread

Root Beer (some brands)

au jus

Lindt chocolate and some others like Godiva

whiskey (except JDaniels)

bourbon

gin

some vodkas

wine coolers

some shredded cheese (anti-caking agent)

some dried fruit (anti-caking agent)

some vanilla extract (some people disagree, i think)

some pickles

some seasoned vegetables at restaurants

sauteed mushrooms at restaurants (some use soy sauce)

some makeup, shampoo, soap, etc.

lots of vegetarian fake-meat products

some people/restaurants keep a piece of bread in their sugar container to keep it from clumping

I'm not sure, but I thought anything cooked with Mesquite was a no-no.

btw

RUNNING RABBIT LICORICE and Candy Tree ORganic is Gluten Free

I have info. stating: "Most Haribo products ARE gluten free. The following products are NOT gluten-free:

Black licorice wheels, red licorice wheels, sour s'ghetti, fruity pasta, pico-balla, allsorts and pontefract cakes."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seventh Generation menstrual pads are made of wheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any shiny chocolates with food glaze at Trader Joe's have gluten (chocolate covered nuts and dried fruits). I got way sick from them once and called the company. It isn't on the label. I asked an employee to find out more about it but he never did. The chocolate covered orange and raspberry sticks have no glaze and are fine.

Cadbury Easter eggs have gluten--so sad...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had a handful of dry roasted nuts today and definitely had a gluten reaction.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please remember: this thread is 5 years old. Ingredients and products change in that period of time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

which brand? and this thread is 5 years old, BTW

 

I had a handful of dry roasted nuts today and definitely had a gluten reaction.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,091
    • Total Posts
      920,310
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I have posted on here before. DQ2, brother with celiac, DGP iGA was the only mildly elevated test. Was gluten-free so did 6 week challenge last winter. Negative biopsy. I am gluten-free now but do go out to eat. Prior to the challenge my health was good. Since then I have: Chest pain, pain between shoulder blades, periods of shortness of breath, heart palpitations, one instance of a heart arrythmia episode, neck is tender to touch on one side (they kept saying sinuses or TMJ which my dentist vetoed) ear ache, bowels never sink. Numbness and tingling. Blood pressure variations. Could be doing chores and feel dizzy and it might be 84/52.  not super low, but not typical for me if I'm running around the house.While other days I am mildly hypertensive. Recently lost 5 lbs in 8 days without trying. Recently electrolytes were low, alkaline phosphatese was low. Ferritin started dropping so started liquid iron 2-3 times per day 4 months ago. Primary watching that, I am not anemic but we are nowhere near iron overload either.  GI doc was a dick. Did not even know DGP replaced older tests and he was very condescending When I begged him for help recently and told me to get a second opinion which is exactly what I plan on doing.  I now have pain in my upper GI area. It is tender to touch. I had my gallbladder out in 97 along with a stone and infection in my bile duct. It hurts in this area. Pancreatic enzymes look fine, liver enzymes fine. Pancreatic ultrasound fine. I will now be doing a EUS Soon to look at bile duct, pancreas and liver.   so a typical day for me is that I might feel fine for a while and then suddenly feel like I'm going to pass out. really dizzy, numbness in odd places, like my body has been hijacked. I will typically eat a bunch of food something high protein and in about an hour or so I start to feel better. However, then my upper stomach starts to hurt in place of the passing out feeling. blood sugars are also normal. After getting the " it must be panic attacks" and condescending looks a million times my primary finally ordered an ultrasound of my sore neck and there is an abnormality in my thyroid which she says looks like possibly Hashti's. Except for one time, all my serum TSH tests were normal. We have more blood work on Monday. As I have not put on any weight and there are other symptoms that are closer to Graves.  Has anyone else had any thyroid issues that followed doing a gluten challenge?  where is your stomach pain? Do you have it above or below your belly button? Mine feels like it's in the pancreas area, like 2-3 inches above the belly button and when I push on it it's tender, but not all the time. sometimes i feel it in my back. 
    • Thanks for sharing with me.  I really appreciate it.  Honestly, after a glutening last summer (still do not know what glutened me), I did not eat out for a year!  The risk was too great as my healing time took 3 months (for symptoms to subside) and six months to regain lost weight.  Our recent vacation to Europe was worth the risk  as we traveled with our entire extended family, but we were extra cautious and ate only at celiac-approved places.  Otherwise, we "dined" at markets or ate the food we brought from home.  Thankfully, we did not get glutened (at least we don't think so!)  
    • I do not struggle with this and I was brought up the same way as you. I don't struggle because for many years off & on we didn't have a bathtub, only showers as well as this being therapy or medicinal for the skin - heck even for the muscles as I age. I figure I've earned my right to luxuriate or medicate with baths any time I've a mind to. My husband saw just how bad my dh got & NEVER begrudges me a nice long soak in the big soaking tub we now have.
    • Hi, No, I do not have celiac  disease. I have an ankylosing spondylitis which is an auto-immune disease provoking an inflammation of the joints. Under the advice and supervision of my doctor and the professor at the hospital I follow a gluten free & casein free diet, which is extremely successful in preventing inflammatory events. And I've been doing so, strictly, for more than 6 years. So I'm not Celiac, but I can tell you that I react strongly every time I take gluten even in small amounts. Even soya sauce, which according to this website has an almost zero dose of gluten, is a lot too much for me. Nevertheless I allow myself to eat food which has been processed in a factory which processes gluten. To conclude, I would say that when you are travelling, especially in a country where celiac disease is scarcely known, you should be twice as careful as when you're going out at home. In the end you can never guarantee that the cook has cleaned his pan after using soya sauce and so on... You can only bet
    • Along those lines, many Americans are now pursuing gluten-free eating. Gluten ... Diagnosis of celiac disease typically requires a history and physical ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,120
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    HeatherVanessa
    Joined