This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Food Allergens

sillyyak

sillyyak Enthusiast

I was wondering why potatoes and tomatoes and bananas and rice can be considered allergens?

How does one get tested for other food allergies besides gluten?

I am new to this disease and food intolerances so any advice would be appreciated! Thank you

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

jenvan Collaborator

I pasted info I have posted before on "allergies" below. Explains the difference between a classic food allergy (IgE) and a delayed food allergy/sensitivity/food intolerance (IgG). York Allergy Labs and Great Plains Labs do this type of testing. I opted for Great Plains b/c my insurance covered part of it. (I can give you more info on that if you like). Another option is to keep a food journal and try a rotation diet--that often helps identity a link between certain symptoms and foods. That is how I first figured out I was casein intolerant.