This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

True Or False

Random Guy

Random Guy Apprentice

i'm fairly new to all of this - diagnosed with celiac on 12/21/05, gluten free since 1/1/06

and i am all for being 100% gluten-free with no cheating

this guy i work with that has celiac also, told me that your intestines heal in a matter of weeks. any gluten will damage them again. and they will heal again in a couple of weeks. but there is some amount of 'scarring' damage that is cumulative (meaning the scarring on top of previous scarring gets worse and worse with each incident'

i don't remember reading that anywhere else.

anyone know if this is true? or false? or theoretically makes sense, but not proven?

thanks

rg

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

darlindeb25 Collaborator

To begin with it takes more then a few weeks to heal--some people take up to 5 yrs, average I think is around 2 yrs. I dont know if anyone truly knows how much damage is done by celiacs disease and a celiac must stay gluten free. Any gluten is too much. If you eat gluten on purpose, you are only adding to the damage already done. Sometimes we do get glutened by accident, we learn from those mistakes. When we go gluten free, we heal, but we cant really know what damage was already done, we can only prevent further damage from occuring. Keep at it! Deb

tarnalberry Community Regular