10 replies to this topic

#1 Random Guy

Random Guy

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 77 posts

Posted 13 January 2006 - 11:21 AM

i'm fairly new to all of this - diagnosed with celiac on 12/21/05, gluten free since 1/1/06

and i am all for being 100% gluten-free with no cheating

this guy i work with that has celiac also, told me that your intestines heal in a matter of weeks. any gluten will damage them again. and they will heal again in a couple of weeks. but there is some amount of 'scarring' damage that is cumulative (meaning the scarring on top of previous scarring gets worse and worse with each incident'

i don't remember reading that anywhere else.
anyone know if this is true? or false? or theoretically makes sense, but not proven?
thanks
rg

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 darlindeb25

darlindeb25

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,324 posts

Posted 13 January 2006 - 02:56 PM

To begin with it takes more then a few weeks to heal--some people take up to 5 yrs, average I think is around 2 yrs. I dont know if anyone truly knows how much damage is done by celiacs disease and a celiac must stay gluten free. Any gluten is too much. If you eat gluten on purpose, you are only adding to the damage already done. Sometimes we do get glutened by accident, we learn from those mistakes. When we go gluten free, we heal, but we cant really know what damage was already done, we can only prevent further damage from occuring. Keep at it! Deb
Deb
Long Island, NY

Double DQ1, subtype 6

We urge all doctors to take time to listen to your patients.. don't "isolate" symptoms but look at the whole spectrum. If a patient tells you s/he feels as if s/he's falling apart and "nothing seems to be working properly", chances are s/he's right!

"The calm river of your life approaches the rocky chute of the rapids - flow on through. You are the same water. The rocks cannot hurt you. Remember, now and then, that you are the water and not the boat. Flow on!