15 replies to this topic

#1 gointribal

gointribal

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 20 January 2006 - 09:32 AM

I am new to Celiac so I have weird things happening, but I was wondering if any one else was too?! If I eat gluten I feel wicked sick, get gas, bloated, my vision is blured, I feel like I am going to throw up but I still am hungry! I don't know what it is or if its just me, but does anyone else have this too?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 MACE

MACE

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 20 January 2006 - 09:38 AM

I GET ALOT OF WHAT YOU ARE SAYING, BUT FOR ME I THINK IF I GET SOME GLUTEN IT SETS OFF SOME KIND OF CRAVING WHERE I WANT MORE AND MORE TO EAT. IF I STAY WITHOUT GLUTEN I DO NOT SEEM TO GET HUNGERY MUCH AT ALL, IN FACT I HAVE TO REMIND MYSELF TO EAT. BEFORE GOING GLETEN FREE I WAS ALWAYS HUNGERY. THEN I WAS EATING ALOT OF PASTA ETC. AND COULD NEVER GET ENOUGH TO EAT. THAT IS ONE OF THE FIRST THINGS I NOTICED WAS THAT I WAS NOT SO HUNGERY AFTER GETTING OFF OF THAT STUFF.

sorry about the caps, forgot i had them on and do not want to retype it all.

#3 jerseyangel

jerseyangel

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,939 posts

Posted 20 January 2006 - 09:46 AM

Yes--it dosen't seem to make any sense, but even if I am sick from a gluten reaction, I still get hungry and also very thirsty. I think it seems strange, because we tend to equate the upset stomach, D and the rest of the symptoms as an illness--as the flu would be. The gluten reaction is, as we know, an autoimmune reaction--not a virus or a bacteria--so maybe that's why it dosen't affect our appetites the way we expect. I don't know--just my thoughts :)
Patti

"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

#4 CeliaCruz

CeliaCruz

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip