Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Are Tic-tacs gluten-free?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 sillyyak

sillyyak

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 125 posts

Posted 22 January 2006 - 08:54 AM

Does anyone know if Lifesavers, Fruity Certs, or Tic Tacs (all flavors) are gluten free?

I tried to locate the information on their websites and have had no such luck.

Thank you.
  • 0
Diagnosed 11-11-05 after 3 months of major symptoms, including 2 hospitalizations and 7 ER visits for dehydration and syncope. Otherwise, I had all "normal" blood tests and major scans. During those 3 months, lost 20 pounds, all my muscle tone, and ultimately could not walk for 2 days. Spent 6 days during the second hospitalization hooked up to IV and STILL passing out IN BED due to malnutrition with doctors staring at me AS IF it was all IN MY HEAD

Other related symptoms:
Osteopenia
Hypothyroidism
Gluten Ataxia - three "nodes" recently found in my brain (thought I had MS)
Muscle weakness
Fatigue
Chronic Constipation
45 pound weight gain since going gluten-free!

gluten-free since 11-11-05. Cannot eat bananas, potatoes, or spinach. Recently reintroduced yogurt into my diet and able to tolerate plain yogurt with sugar.

HATE the diet but psychologically tolerating it for my health.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Canadian Karen

Canadian Karen

    That Crazy Canuck!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,554 posts

Posted 22 January 2006 - 09:56 AM

Well........ okay......... this DOES seem to be my area of expertise, so::rolleyes:

I remember seeing somewhere that Tic Tac's are NOT GLUTEN FREE.

Here is a list of, ahem, mints that are okay (note: list is in alphabetical order and in NO WAY indicates personal preference):

Altoids (Kraft) (Altoids.com) (800-543-5335) (vw=2004) (http://www.kraftfoods.com/) Read the label. Wheat, oats, rye and barley will be listed on the label of Kraft products that contain these ingredients. They will not be hidden under words such as “natural flavors”, etc. Kraft considers distilled vinegar, no matter the source, gluten-free.

Breath Saver Mints (Hershey Foods) (800-468-1714) (00/00/00)
Sugar-free: iced mint, mint cinnamon, peppermint, spearmint, vanilla mint, wintergreen

Life Savers (Nabisco--Kraft) (800-543-5335) (http://www.kraftfoods.com/) (vw=2004)
Read the label. Wheat, oats, rye and barley will be listed on the label of Kraft products that contain these ingredients. They will not be hidden under words such as “natural flavors”, etc. Kraft considers distilled vinegar, no matter the source, gluten-free.


Hope this helps. B)

Karen
  • 0
Karen

positive bloodwork, positive biopsy
Celiac, collagenous colitis, hypothyroidism
endometriosis (at age 20)
spinal stenosis (early 20's)

Biopsy August 2006 confirmed complete villous atrophy despite being gluten-free for years and bloodwork within range showing compliance with diet. Doctor has confirmed diagnosis of Refractory Celiac Sprue.
Endoscopy also showed numerous stomach ulcers, have started taking Losec.

Mother to Eileen 13 yrs
Rhiannon 8 yrs
Daniel & Connor 6 yr twin boys......

"Joyfulness keeps the heart and face young. A good laugh makes us better friends with ourselves and everybody around us."
Orison Swett Marden


Laughter is the shortest distance between two people.
-- Victor Borge



"An optimist laughs to forget. A pessimist forgets to laugh."
Tom Nansbury


"Doctor to patient: I have good news and bad news. The good news is that you are not a hypochondriac."
Unknown

#3 VydorScope

VydorScope

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,364 posts

Posted 22 January 2006 - 11:47 AM

Here is a list of, ahem, mints that are okay (note: list is in alphabetical order and in NO WAY indicates personal preference):


SUUUUURE and you just happpen to list altiods first, randomly?



Searching this board I found this post

http://www.glutenfre...t=0

THat seems to say that Tictacs are gluten-free as of April 2003. I could not find any info on thier web site, so that post is all I can point to at this time.
  • 0

- Vincent -


#4 elonwy

elonwy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,071 posts

Posted 22 January 2006 - 12:08 PM

I do want to point out that the mini altoids and the altoids gum both list wheat as an ingredient.
Sucks, cause I really liked the gum.
Elonwy
  • 0
Positive Bloodwork 7/8/05
Inconclusive Biopsy 7/20/05
gluten-free since 7/23/05
Never felt better.


"So here's us, on the raggedy edge, come a day when there won't be room for naughty men like us to slip about at all. - Malcolm Reynolds"

#5 jerseyangel

jerseyangel

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,938 posts

Posted 22 January 2006 - 12:16 PM

Me too--I loved the gum! I was so dissapointed when I found out it wasn't safe. :angry:
  • 0
Patti


"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

#6 tarnalberry

tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts

Posted 22 January 2006 - 01:15 PM

Last time I checked (which was a few months ago) the cinnamon altoids gum flavor didn't have wheat in it, while the peppermint did. I totally don't get it, but that's what the labels told me.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#7 jerseyangel

jerseyangel

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,938 posts

Posted 22 January 2006 - 01:20 PM

Thanks--I'll look into that!
  • 0
Patti


"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

#8 Becky6

Becky6

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 525 posts

Posted 22 January 2006 - 05:27 PM

Oooooo that would be great! I love the cinnamon altoids and I will have to check that out!
  • 0

#9 KaitiUSA

KaitiUSA

    Be the change you wish to see in the world!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,583 posts

Posted 24 January 2006 - 08:52 AM

Last time I checked(less than a week) the regular size peppermint and cinnamon altoids are gluten free. Tic Tacs are gluten free as well.
  • 0
Kaiti
Positive bloodwork
Gluten-free since January 2004
Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

#10 Mahee34

Mahee34

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts

Posted 24 January 2006 - 09:33 AM

thank goodness......i saw that someone posted that tic tacs were not gluten free after i had just popped like 4 in my mouth......they've just been sitting on the table staring at me since.....i'm glad now i can make my breath minty tic tacy fresh again :)
  • 0

#11 Ms Glock

Ms Glock

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 April 2009 - 07:06 AM

According to their web site...

Tic Tacs contain corn gluten, but not gliadin gluten from wheat, barley or rye grains.

Hope this clears up the Tic Tac issue! :)
  • 0

#12 elocin71

elocin71

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 08 August 2010 - 04:29 PM

They contain corn gluten as of 8/8/10.

http://tictac.com.au/faqs/
  • 0

#13 psawyer

psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,994 posts

Posted 08 August 2010 - 04:52 PM

They contain corn gluten as of 8/8/10.

http://tictac.com.au/faqs/

That link is from Australia, and may not apply elsewhere.

Corn gluten is safe for celiacs. "Gluten" is defined by a chemist as the protein (prolamine) from a grain--any grain. As seen by a dietitian, or a celiac, it refers to the proteins in wheat, rye and barley (oats may or may not be included).

Also, please be aware that this topic is from January 2006, and product ingredients may have changed in four and a half years.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: